IE6 and Search engine troubles

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

sweetcheekies

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2001
Messages
1,218
Okay i am back yet again with the same problem only this time i cant get it to fix like last time. I can only access my search engine if i choose use only one search engine. I go to customize and its shows at ton are checked when i choose search assistant..but when i click on the search button i get "this page cannot be found" message where the search stuff usually is.. i can still customize and stuff but not get the search assistant working

any ideas?
Sweet
 

sweetcheekies

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2001
Messages
1,218
Okay that didnt work at all.. it made things worse i couldnt do anything.. ughhhhh i can get it so if i click on choosing a specific search engine it will work but when i choose Search Assistant i get "cannot find page " message in where the search thing is suppose to show up anyone with any idea??????? please??

Sweet
 

sweetcheekies

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2001
Messages
1,218
Can anyone help me? I need some help on this one I hate having to use just the one search engine..

refer to earlier message if you dont know what i am talking about thanks..
Sweet
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2001
Messages
3,054
sweetcheekies,

If you MUST use IE6.0 and it appears that you are then you can always place the URLs to any and all other search engines you want to use into your Favorites folder and access them from there.

DS
 

sweetcheekies

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2001
Messages
1,218
that is a royal pain lol but thanks for the thought.. i am just use to the usual way i guess
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2001
Messages
3,054
I know it is but it will get you to the desired search engine.

as for a royal pain............Did you have these probs. with IE5.5?

DS
 

sweetcheekies

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2001
Messages
1,218
See I need the multiple search engine feature so my 11 year old can find things on the puter without having to get into alot of my puter and messing things up lol

sweet
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2001
Messages
3,054
Okay, so the next question logically is why do you feel you have to have IE6.0?

What are you getting out of IE6.0 that you just have to have?

DS
 

sweetcheekies

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2001
Messages
1,218
dont know wanted to try it out.. alot of people have been saying its better than 5.5 now the prob is how can i totally remove IE 6? u cant do it by going to control panel / add/remove then removing it cause all that does is fix the dang thing..

Sweet
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2001
Messages
3,054
Sorry it took a while to get back here........

Yes, I know uninstalling IE6.0 is not made easy by MS.....why I know not . That is why it is best to look before you leap.

I came up with this link for the time being and I'll look for the specific how to and get back her with the info.

Keep you busy for a while tho look in here......

http://www.smartcomputing.com/edito...uninstall+IE6.0&searchtype=0&cmdButton=Search

edit: http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=56699&highlight=uninstall+IE6.0

I don't know if that covers IE6.0 uninstall but look there as well it was all the Search here turned up on the topic

DS
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

You may want to try this for uninstalling IE6.

Go to the Control Panel | AddRemove. Put a tick in "restore to previous windows configuration", then a tick in Add A component, instead of Repair. Follow the prompts and select Internet Explorer. Ignore the warning and reinstall it anyway.

With the Search part, are you getting any search engines to work? What I mean is, if you click the button, you say you get Page Cannot be Found. Your Search Engine name may be wrong.

You may also want to have a look at this:

http://forums.techguy.org/showthread.php?threadid=56650&pagenumber=1

Not really the same issue, but it talks about the Search facilty. One bit in particular, but we may need people more advanced in the registry to find it, is this:

The Automatic Search URL is configurable by using two parameters denoted by a percent (%) sign. These two values must be part of the URL itself. The value %1 represents what the user typed in the Address bar. The value %2 represents the type of search option chosen by the user. Possible values for %2 are 3, 2, 1, and 0, where:

3 = Display the results and go to the most likely site.
2 = Just go to the most likely site.
1 = Just display the results in the main window.
0 = Do not search from the Address bar.
Now, you may have 0 set somewhere. Mine must be set to 1. What this means is, if you have Do Not Search, it won't search.

But, if you try the uninstall back to IE5.5, and see if it works again, we may not have to try all that blurb above :p

Regards

eddie
 

sweetcheekies

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2001
Messages
1,218
Okay that wont work cause if u go to my UHOH post u will find out i messed things up royally lol

sweet
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top