1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

IE6 problem....

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by darwin1971, Jan 18, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. darwin1971

darwin1971 Thread Starter

Hi folks. Newbie here, please be gentle=)

My problem is that I can't have more than 1 window open at a time, or they lock up. This started up about a week ago - prior to that, I could have 15 webpages open and not miss a beat. =/

All my other programs seem to be working fine, (and with each other, including one widow to surf in) but if I open up a second one, im done after about 5 seconds.

I have to crtl alt del, get the program is not responding message, end it, and all my IE windows close out. I surfed around Microsofts help pages, saw a few pop up lock up fixes, but most didnt seem relevant to me. I've run all the basic system tools, and the IE repair tool, but I'm still having the problem. The only thing I've done recently (that I can remember) is uninstall 2 rather large games; thinking maybe I lost an important file somewhere, I also tried re-installing Win98, but that hasnt helped either.

Thanks in advance!

System info I can think of:
    P3 500
    256 mb ram
    Win98 second edition

*edit system info*

2. Balzac

Balzac Guest

3. darwin1971

darwin1971 Thread Starter

Thanks Balzac!

Sure enough, one of the solutions in that link cured my problem.