1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Iexplore error

Discussion in 'Web & Email' started by joflaherty, Dec 19, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. joflaherty

    joflaherty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    85
    I am using Windows ME and IE 5.50.
    Increasingly I am getting the error message:
    "Iexplore has caused an error in A02LSP.DLL.
    Iexplore will now close.

    If you continue to experience problems,
    try restarting your computer."

    The error appears to happen at random, but always when I click on a link of some type.

    John.
     
  2. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    I can't find anything on that dll.

    Not having a clue as to what you have done... I suggest if you have an updated virus scanner that you run it now. If not.. go get one... like AVG ( its free ) http://www.grisoft.com

    and there is spyware ... if you don't have Ad-Aware go get it at http://www.lavasoft.de

    run ad-aware & remove anything it finds
     
  3. Brooks

    Brooks Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,323
    Do a search on your computer for that file and see where it is located.

    Also, go to start - run and type in msinfo32. Go to the software + and open it and click on startup programs.

    Copy and paste the information here.

    I am thinking that that is a layered service provider dll from some third party software. We just need to figure out where it is coming from.
     
  4. joflaherty

    joflaherty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    85
    I've searched for the file. I found AO2LSP.DLL not A02LSP.DLL if that makes any difference?
    It is located in C:\Windows\System

    What am I to paste and where?

    Thanks.

    John.
     
  5. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    If you rightclick this file, and choose properties, what does it say?

    And what Brooks meant is this:

    Go to Start/run, and type Msinfo32, followed by OK.
    Go to Software Environment/Startup Programs.
    Now click Edit/'Select all', and then 'copy'
    Paste the contents in your post.

    Good luck,
     
  6. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    John, go to start and run msinfo32

    Click on "software environment" and "startup programs"

    Then click edit>select all>edit>copy and paste the copied text in your next reply.

    Neither version of those dll's gets any "hits". My suspicion is that it is used by some relatively new spy or adware file, or perhaps a trojan.

    Have you run an updated antivirus scan?

    You can do an online scan here:

    http://housecall.antivirus.com/pc_housecall/
     
  7. Brooks

    Brooks Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,323
    I was hoping it would be somewhere other than in the Windows directory or subfolder. This would have given a starting point to start looking for where that dll was coming from.

    Click on Start
    Click run
    type in msinfo32 and click ok

    This will start the system info tool.

    In the system info tool, click on the + next to software.
    Next click on the item that says startup programs. This will display a list of all the programs that startup automatically when the PC starts.

    Now hold down the ctrl key and press the c.

    Open up a reply here and paste the info that was just copied by holding down the ctrl key and pressing v.
     
  8. joflaherty

    joflaherty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    85
    I have Norton antivirus software which is updated daily and runs a scheduled scan once a week.

    Here's my copy of MSINFO32>Software Environment>StartUp Programs

    *StateMgr c:\windows\system\restore\statemgr.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    AdsOff "c:\program files\adsoff2\adsoff.exe" -startup All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    AdsOff Startup "c:\program files\adsoff2\reset.exe" All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    CloneCDTray c:\windows\start menu\programs\accessories\clonecdtray.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    ctfmon.exe ctfmon.exe .DEFAULT HKU\.DEFAULT\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    cursor "c:\program files\accessories\screendragon vs3 taskbar.exe" All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    Cyber Patrol c:\patrol\cp.exe /t All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    defwatch c:\program files\norton antivirus\defwatch.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    DXM6Patch_981116 c:\windows\p_981116.exe /q:a All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    HPDJ Taskbar Utility c:\windows\system\hpztsb02.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    LoadPowerProfile rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,loadcurrentpwrscheme All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    LoadPowerProfile rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,loadcurrentpwrscheme All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    LoadQM loadqm.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    LVComs c:\windows\system\lvcoms.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    MDM7 "c:\program files\common files\microsoft shared\vs7debug\mdm.exe" All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    Microsoft Office c:\progra~1\micros~1\office\osa9.exe -b -l .DEFAULT Startup
    MOSearch c:\progra~1\common~1\system\mosearch\bin\mosearch.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    MSMSGS "c:\progra~1\messen~1\msmsgs.exe" /background .DEFAULT HKU\.DEFAULT\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    MSN Messenger c:\my documents\messenger service received files\pic1324(1)(1)(1)(1)(1)(1)(1)(3).exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    PCHealth c:\windows\pchealth\support\pchschd.exe -s All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    rtvscn95 c:\program files\norton antivirus\rtvscn95.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    ScanRegistry c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    SchedulingAgent mstask.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    SoundMan soundman.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    SSDPSRV c:\windows\system\ssdpsrv.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    StillImageMonitor c:\windows\system\stimon.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    SystemTray systray.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    TaskMonitor c:\windows\taskmon.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    vptray c:\program files\norton antivirus\vptray.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    WEBCAMRT.EXE .DEFAULT HKU\.DEFAULT\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    webHancer Agent "c:\program files\webhancer\programs\whagent.exe" All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    Hope YOU can make some sense of it!

    John.
     
  9. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    I think this is whats causing the error...AdsOff "c:\program files\adsoff2\adsoff.exe" -startup All Users .... but you've got some spyware issues... WebHancer is spyware...you need to type in run "msconfig" then click OK,, go to startup & uncheck it
    & AdsOff
    Download AD_AWARE Spyware remover but uncheck WebHancer before you run it & then go to add/remove & uninstall it there also before you run ad-aware

    you also have too many items in startup & some of these need to be unchecked.
     
  10. Brooks

    Brooks Guest

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2001
    Messages:
    2,323
    That dll is installed by adsoff. Uninstall adsoff and see if that takes care of the problem.
     
  11. Rollin' Rog

    Rollin' Rog

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    45,855
    It is best to remove webhancer through Add/Remove programs before running Ad-Aware. Be sure to reboot afterwards. And yoiu should have the following zip file on hand to unzip and run in case the removal results in loss of internet connectivity:

    http://www.lavasoft.de/aaw/binary/whndnfix.zip

    After you download Ad-Aware, you should also download the current reflist update. Unzip it and copy it to the Ad-aware programs folder and run it before running Ad-Aware.

    When you do run Ad-Aware, make sure you do a memory scan, deep registry scan and all drives on which you have installed programs. When it completes, check all the entries it finds and click "make backup". Then Finish. Reboot afterwards and run Ad-aware a second time to ensure complete cleaning.


    I would also advise removing mdm.exe from your startup list -- although it is not related to your current problem, it is a resource hog and produces unwanted error prompts which are of value only to programmers.

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q221438

    To remove it from the registry, run regedit and navigate to the key indicated in the MS article; right click on mdm in the right hand pane and delete it.

    Additionally, I would strongly recommend uninstalling mosearch

    http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;q282106

    Like Find Fast, it is a useless and resource hogging application.
     
  12. joflaherty

    joflaherty Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2001
    Messages:
    85
    Right!
    I've uninstalled AdsOff, Removed WebHancer, downloaded and run Ad_Aware.
    Since, I've had no errors - good sign!
    I'll try this Regedit procedure later.

    Many thanks.

    John.
     
  13. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    you should reboot now
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/62293

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice