If I use Spy-Bot, do I need Ad-Aware?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Yakkum

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Messages
77
I know Lavasoft just released Ad-Aware 6 but I've been using Spy-bot for awhile now, should I use ad-aware as well? Do they essentially do the same thing?

Okay, thanks.
 

pyritechips

Jim
Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jun 2, 2002
Messages
26,907
Hello!

I used the old Ad-aware and I am using spybot. They do a similar job but there will be some overlap. But I like Spybot much more and am converted! Unless lots of people try the new Ad-aware and say it is much better than Spybot I have no plans on using it. Use Spybot and Use Spywareblaster- they are a deadly combination. I already had Spywareblaster block installation of Xupiter 2 days ago! It's great!
 

Yakkum

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Messages
77
I agree, I like spybot much much better but I was just wondering if the two are a necessary combo or if they will both detect all the same crap so I can just stick with one.

If I only need one, I will definitely keep just spybot, it is teh b3st0rz!
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2002
Messages
362
I downloaded and ran AdAware last night just a little while after running Spybot. AdAware found a few cookies that Spybot didn't find, but I run a pretty clean 'puter. I have read on some other forums that each one finds a few things that the other does not find. My plan is to mainly use Spybot and ocaisionally run AdAware if I have gone to some cheesy website by accident.

BTW - AdAware 6 already has an update out today.
 
Joined
May 26, 1999
Messages
994
I too will stick with spybot. They have kept up to date. Adaware seems to me to be the same type program and who says they will NOW keep up to date.
 

pyritechips

Jim
Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jun 2, 2002
Messages
26,907
Both programs do basically the same thing and cover almost exactly the same spyware. I think the only differences will be due to variances in updates and timing, and will be minor. I think running both would be a waste but I will wait for more experienced input.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2002
Messages
5,945
I'm a AA Plus customer so, since I paid for it, I decided to get version 6 when it came out even though I also use Spybot.

I think they do operate on different principles and, since I've had v 6, its caught a Gator component that Spybot didn't. I have been running AA Plus and Spybot one after the other in a very unscientific test and, apart from the Gator thing, when one has removed all the spyware it found the other one hasn't found any more.

Lavasoft fouled up badly over v 5.83 and they have some way to go to make amends but they have managed 3 or 4 reffile updates and at least one new build since v 6 came out to deal with some early problems (none of which affected me).

Version 6 does need more setting up than 5.83 and if you try it it would be a good idea to visit the Lavasoft forum and check out the advice as well as read the Help files carefully.
 

eddie5659

Moderator
Malware Specialist
Joined
Mar 19, 2001
Messages
37,298
Hiya

I've just got the new AddAware version, and I have to say, it found some things that Spybot didn't.

For instance, it finds a few BDE folders and files, that Spybot didn't. These are found in my Maya plugins, but I didn't delete them, as I'm fine with Maya as it is :)

Just ignored them.

Spybot, when running straight after, found nothing out of the ordinary. I don't bother with the cleaning of recently used, or seen pages, but Spybot seems to take care of those areas, if you're worried about them.

I'll keep updating both, trialing at the same time, and see what happens over the next few months.

eddie
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2002
Messages
5,945
eddie,

Same here. I paid the small cost for AA Plus last May and donated towards Spybot (essential in my view if we want good programmers to keep on doing what they do).

Therefore, I shall keep using both programs until something happens to change my mind.

Spybot now has its useful extra tools and AA its plugins so there may, in future, be more reasons to keep both as they develop new or improved functions, even if they both find the same spyware.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Originally posted by eddie5659:
Hiya

I've just got the new AddAware version, and I have to say, it found some things that Spybot didn't.

For instance, it finds a few BDE folders and files, that Spybot didn't. These are found in my Maya plugins, but I didn't delete them, as I'm fine with Maya as it is :)
They could well be false positives. I'm seeing an awful lot of those, to tell you the truth.

Have PMK troubleshoot them at the SpyBot board, or post at the Lavasoft board to get their opinion.

Whatever they turn out to be, both parties would be interested to find out for sure.

I have to say I get to see an awful lot of Startuplist logs at the Lavasoft board with stuff that AAW doesn't recognize or target but SpyBot does.

On a more general note, yes, by all means keep both. It can't hurt to doublecheck.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top