1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Solved Ignorant Windows guy needs help selecting an iPad.

Discussion in 'Apple Mobile Devices' started by Alex Ethridge, Jun 26, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Alex Ethridge

Alex Ethridge Thread Starter

I have been servicing Windows systems since 1994; but, I know nothing about Apple. I've never even used an Apple phone. I know how to spec a Windows system when I need one. I've assembled many a box myself; but, I am ignorant of Apple.

I want to select an iPad, preferably the latest model, one with the 10.5-inch screen, 256 SSD. The 12-incher seems too large for me. Looking at the specs on NewEgg, they all list the size of the storage media; but, I don't see anything about memory. Isn't that important?

I definitely want to be able to run that Notability program.

I will be doing some light photo editing from time to time and I have cameras that create 12-, 16-, 20- and 36-meg RAW files; but, I'll be doing that only occasionally. Most of my photo editing will be on my Windows desktop.

Aside from that, ordinary internet/e-mail and word processing, not much else.

Tell me some things I need to know please.

This one seems OK to me but what do I know.

2. etaf

etaf Moderator

First Name:
    Wayne
    Edit - i moved to the apple mobile forum, you were in the Apple Mac
    And ipad is not the same as an apple mac.
    in case you are reading up on apple mac and thinking its the same as the ipad its not
    Apple Mac will run operating system software called OSX and at a price Windows
    Ipads run operating system software called IOS

with the ipad hardware you have little choice
    the 10.5" will offer you different prices just for the storage

so if you want a 10.5" with 256GB then you only have 1 choice