Illegal Operation

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

john god

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 21, 2006
Messages
88
I have a windows 98 se.........My problem is, when I go to a web site, I get this box saying
(Your Program has Performed an Illegal Operation.) This keeps coming up quite often.
Is there any fixing this?
Thank-You
John
 

SUEOHIO

SUE
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
3,754
yes there is a fix for this. what is the complete message is it from internet explorer, aol, ? i used to get those all the time on an old computer running windows 98 first edition. my fix was to just get another computer and go with xp. havent seen that annoying message since. however thats not the fix you want. is it saying something like what i used to get as an example ie module something pdf.ocx or if it was from aol it would say something like waol module something kernel.dll missing . give us more info and someone should be able to help you with this annoyance. hang in there help is on the way i hope. :)
 

john god

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 21, 2006
Messages
88
Internet exployer...............
Your program has performed an Illegal operation and will be shut down...
 

SUEOHIO

SUE
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
3,754
what version of internet explorer do you have? is it ie6? if its lower than 6 try to update to 6 and see what happens. if its ie7 it wont work on either version of windows 98. i know because i tried to put it in my old computer that was running 98 and it basically said uh uh no way. you might want to try if you can going to microsoft website and typing in that you are getting an illegal operation message and it has fixes that you can try. can you remember what the complete message says so i or someone else can help further. when the message happens again see if your able to print it out and give us the jist of what its problem is. let us know what happens. i promise you this is a fixable problem and can be solved . hang in there.
 

SUEOHIO

SUE
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
3,754
does the message also say contact vendor of the program? what program is it? you might try repairing ie by going to your control panel looking for internet explorer(it should also tell you what version you have) click on the add/remove then double click ie select repair. another thing you can try if possible is go to microsoft help and support and type in the exact message your getting. everything ive found seems to apply to ie5 so maybe getting a newer version might help. let us know what happens.
 
Joined
Feb 28, 2007
Messages
6
I get that too when I try to log in to word press blog or any membership site.I did try to repare IE6 but result was the same.This is my message:

Your Program has Performed an Illegal Operation.

IEXPLORE caused an invalid page fault in
module <unknown> at 0000:004b46f6.
Registers:
EAX=004c0c5c CS=0167 EIP=004b46f6 EFLGS=00010286
EBX=00000000 SS=016f ESP=0064cccc EBP=0064cd4c
ECX=004b46f8 DS=016f ESI=02e76b60 FS=29ff
EDX=02e76b88 ES=016f EDI=02e77270 GS=0000
Bytes at CS:EIP:
00 a0 5c 0c 4c 00 04 40 46 00 00 00 00 00 00 00
Stack dump:
636a86c3 004b46f8 6362ef57 02e77284 02e74510 02e76b60 00000000 00000051 02e76c20 02e76b40 00000000 00000000 00000000 ffffffff ffffffff 00404804
 

SUEOHIO

SUE
Joined
Jan 30, 2007
Messages
3,754
the only other thing i can think of to try is at the top of the page where it says tech support guy there is a listing that says live help give it a hit and you should be able to chat with someone who can solve this annoyance for both of you once and for all. hope this helps you.
 

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,066
Hi go into safe mode..tap f 8 at start up.
Run system file checker..start>run>type sfc.
You will need you Win98se install Cd.
Run scan disk in safe mode.

You are running Win 98se..Intel Pentium 3 with just 128 Mb of Ram.
More Ram is no doubt needed
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top