1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Im connected through a wireless router and a modem... Want to get rid of the router

Discussion in 'Networking' started by SpyKiller112, Jan 25, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. SpyKiller112

    SpyKiller112 Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    521
    the Cable connected to the modem, modem conencts to the Wireless router, and that connects to my computer. Since i hardly ever use the wireless router, i decided i want to just connect to the modem. I switched all the ethernet cords and by looking at what i had done, everything should have been working fine.

    But that is wrong... I couldnt connect to the internet. I while back i set up a static IP address, but i changed that. the settings look like this now:
    [​IMG]

    (to post this i had to go back to the router and the modem)

    when i was trying to use just the modem, windows window bubble came up and said i have little or no activity, and i tried repairing it. windows tried to renew my IP address but that failed so there was nothing else i could think of doing.

    what can i do so i can just connect throught the modem?!
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,340
    First Name:
    Terry
    Number one rule is that when you change the device connected to a modem, you then power cycle the modem.
     
  3. SpyKiller112

    SpyKiller112 Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    521
    I did that when i changed to just the modem
     
  4. tomob

    tomob

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    212
    by cannect direct to the modem you are open to possible hack and threats...... You should keep the router and in it just diable the wireless

    Tom
     
  5. SpyKiller112

    SpyKiller112 Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    521
    this wireless router has no security features. I make up for it with my line of software protection and my knowledge.
     
  6. Craig77

    Craig77

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    10
    Check with your ISP to see if they provide DHCP support or if they allocated you a static IP address
     
  7. SpyKiller112

    SpyKiller112 Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    521
    I dont know why i cant just make the switch. seems like it should work.

    there must be some settings that make the computer think that the only way to connect to the internet is to go through the way i had it set up. other than the image i posted, i dont know what other settings to change/look at.
     
  8. StumpedTechy

    StumpedTechy

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,234
    this wireless router has no security features - it should at least have a NAT firewall thats a fair amount of protection right there.

    Check your WAN settings in your router and see what if anything you have hardcoded in there. If everything is set to get it automatically then really all you should have to do is power everything off unplug the PC to the router unplug the router to the modem hook the PC directly to the modem turn the modem on and then turn the PC on.

    You also may have to check with your ISP to ensure the modem is not designated to a MAC address or anything like that. They may have to reset something on their end.

    Are you in the IP properties of the right network adapter when your looking at this?
     
  9. SpyKiller112

    SpyKiller112 Guest Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    521
    Got it to work
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/437277

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice