1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

im dying.i need help with code error 1603?

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by patit0x, Mar 13, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. patit0x

    patit0x Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    I tried installing both MSN 7.0 Beta & MSN 6.2 but both failed.
    When I'm installing, this message appears:

    An error occurred during the installation of assembly component {874793FC-5F43-496A-8FE7-18C4DB9B143D}
    HRESULT: -2147024894.

    After that, rolling back action occurs & I am told that MSN Messenger was not installed due to error code 1603 & I should download the software from the MSN website.

    I already downloaded the software from messenger.msn.com but it still doesn't work. Also, I've tried every solution posted here but it still doesn't work too.

    I'm currently using windows xp. I'm using Norton Antivirus 2004. I used to have Lavasoft Ad-Aware but I've uninstalled it.

    PLEASE HELP!!
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,613
  4. patit0x

    patit0x Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    i cant find the security tab when i right click on "my computer".
     
  5. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,613
    Is your Windows XP up to date?
     
  6. patit0x

    patit0x Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    yes. i just updated it today to see if it would change anything.
     
  7. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,613
    PatitOx, I have just checked and I agree that the security tab is not there in My Computer. It might be that you have to be logged on as Administrator for the tab to appear.
     
  8. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,613
    PatitOx, to see the Security tab do this-
    To display the Security tab
    Open Folder Options in Control Panel.
    Click Start, and then click Control Panel.
    Double-click Folder Options.
    On the View tab, under Advanced settings, clear Use simple file sharing [Recommended].
     
  9. patit0x

    patit0x Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    the thing is i am the administrator..
    im sorry for taking up your time, i feel so bad for not being quite wise about this thing.
     
  10. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,613
    Pati please post #7.
     
  11. patit0x

    patit0x Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    it doesnt work.
    under the advance settings there is no Use simple file sharing...
     
  12. OBP

    OBP Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    19,613
    Strange, It worked for me.
     
  13. Xtrato

    Xtrato

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    I have exactly the same problem as you.
    I cannot install hardly anything :(
     
  14. Minmaster

    Minmaster

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Messages:
    257
    Does the 1603 error message says something to the likes of :
    "Error 1603: Fatal Error During Installation" or
    "Error 1603: General Windows Installer engine error. Increase DiskSpace requirement in Setup.ini and try again."
    if so, then read take a read on some of the possible fixes:
    http://consumer.installshield.com/kb.asp?id=Q111019
     
  15. patit0x

    patit0x Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    9
    well..
    idont know what happened..
    but.. that message dissappeared..
    and this new one popped up.
    i think it is concerning my internet connection.
    after i Uninstalled adaware..
    i think it blocked most of my connections..
    and for some reason when i connect online..
    everything that im working on will stop abruptly and tell me i am not connected to the internet. after a few seconds it back on track.
    i also hear this trigger sound..im guessing its the amount of attempts of the cpu trying to log back on.
    is there anyway you can help me to ..actually.. leave my internet connection on one line? i dont know how to ask for help for this problem.
     
  16. Xtrato

    Xtrato

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Ok....
    what i did afterall was re formatt. It wasnt a big broblem for me because the whole install thing appened after i formatted the first time so i had all my stuff backed up anyway.
    i have heard something about creating a new account with users with admin privilages or something.
    Good Luck (y)
     
  17. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/340583