im getting kicked off line a lot!

im sorry this was unintentional

  • sorry

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • sorry

    Votes: 1 100.0%

  • Total voters
    1
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

goldustwoman

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2001
Messages
14
for no reason im getting two differant error messages that read=
waol has caused an error in KERNEL32.DLL waol will now close.
waol has caused an error in CSLOA.DLL waol will now close.
it also says try restarting my computer but that is not helping . i have checked my computer resources. they are more than 60% free. it sometimes happens 10 minutes into my net time. sometimes it is an hour later. it is happening almost evey time i get on line. sometimes 5 or 6 times a night. i am using windows me and i have aol 6.0. i dont know what to do.:confused:
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hi,

There's not much to be found about CSLOA.DLL, but it seems to be related to a program (?) called Netsetter (now called Marketscore).

I found this:

"NetSetter offers a unique online service that allows nearly anyone to improve their Internet access speeds, and also improve page and file download times. The service is very popular as it is completely free, and does not even require a download to begin. Your users can be up and running in about 5 minutes, making this a very easy referral to make.

Program Details:
The NetSetter affiliate program pays a very lucrative $4 per lead that is referred"

Does this sound familiar to you?

Anyhow, go to Start/run, and type Msconfig. Go to the Startup tab.
Can you see an entry there involving CSLOA.DLL, Netsetter, or Marketscore, uncheck it, click OK, close msconfig, and reboot.

If there are any other entries you feel unsure about, please post them here so we could have a go at them...

Good luck,
 
Joined
Aug 11, 2001
Messages
2,872
Hi golddustwoman,
I cannot find much on csloa.dll either. But try contacting AOL about removing previous versions of AOL from your PC. Then go to start, settings, control panel, add/remove programs. Scroll down to Internet Explorer 5.0 5.5 or other and hightlight it click on remove. Then click on repair Internet explorer . See if that helps
 

goldustwoman

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2001
Messages
14
i didnt see anything in there about market store or netsetter. do you know anything about my other error message that says waol had caused an error in KERNEL32.dll. waol will close? i welcome ant suggestions you come up with an either error message.:confused:
 

goldustwoman

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2001
Messages
14
i tryed to repare internet explorer but it said it could not be repared. it said i need to reinstal all component by running the set up again. i dont know how to do that. can you help me with running the set up?:confused:
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Wait before you do that, and click on the details button.
Don't always believe what Windows tells you.

Usually it's just a couple of Windows files missing or corrupted that can be restored easily.

So let's check out the deatails first.

Good luck,
 

goldustwoman

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2001
Messages
14
i clicked the details box and it said the following:
internet explorer 5.5 cannot be repaired due to the following errors: version 5.50.4134.100 of file MSIEFTP.DLL exists, but the version needs to be greater then 5.50.4134.600


now what do i do?:confused:
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
You could rename it and replace it by a more recent version. The one on your Windows CD-ROM probably does the trick.

Try renaming the dll in C:\Windows\System to Msieftp.old, and then restoring the original one from your Windows CD-ROM. Rightclick it, choose 'properties', and check whether it's the right version.

That should work.

Here are some tips: How to extract files in Windows 98 and Windows Me


If it is a lower version, I've got 5.50.4807.2300, and I could mail you a copy, If you wouldn't mind that.

But first try extracting it from your Windows CD-ROM.

Good luck,
 

goldustwoman

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2001
Messages
14
i got one of those computers with windows me already installed on it. i didnt get a disc with this thing. so now what?:confused:
 

goldustwoman

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2001
Messages
14
yes i think it would be ok if you wanted to sent me a copy of your version of explorer if you think i should or it would help things.;)
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Well, Windows is telling you you need a more recent version before it can run IE repair, so lets humor it :D

Don't post your e-mail adress on the board, but send it to me in a private message.

Greetz,
 

goldustwoman

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2001
Messages
14
i did what you said and now i have 2 internet explorer icons on my task bar. one that was already there and now a light blue aqua color. does that matter? i ran the repair again and it ran through and said i must restart to finish the repair .does that mean its fixed now?:confused:
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Well done!

It means that Windows has been able to restore all Internet Explorer files to the state they were in when you first installed it. So IE has been 'repaired'.
And as it says, you need to restart now in order to complete this.

Now the 'bad' new is, this doesn't really remedy your problem. It's just one potential uncertainty ruled out.

So we willl have to go from here.

Good luck,
 

goldustwoman

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 19, 2001
Messages
14
after i got it started back up again and was trying to get online the computer went dark. then it went to a blue screen that says file nameVMM(01)+0000D2A3
error:OE:00028:c000E2A3
what did i do to cause this?
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
It probably isn't anything you did. And you certainly don't get this by running IE Repair the way we did.
It could be many things, including a video card problem, overheating, etcetera.

Run a scandisk, making shure that 'automatically repair errors' is checked, and reboot.
See if that goes well.

Rog, among others, is very good at troubleshooting these kind at fatal exceptions.
Let's wait what he has to say about this.
And of course, maybe others have ideas about this as well.

I'm off to work now (it's 9 AM here), but I'll be back later during the day/night.

Good luck,
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top