I'm getting system 32 errors...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Barodurn

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2001
Messages
3
I reciently bought a new computer from a small computer store and we installed a few games and programs on it. shortly after I began recieving 'system 32 errors'. The message occurs at any time in varoius programs and sometimes when I am on the internet. It occasionally liocks up the system, other times it just works itself out. The store where I got it was little help. THey just want me to bring it back and pay to have it fixed. I'd only use that as a final effort. I have repaired pc's in the past but this one has me stumped. All I want to know is what does the system 32 error relate to and what could be done to fix it?
 
Joined
Oct 14, 2001
Messages
2,218
what is the entire error message?

Have you done all your critical updates at microdoft?
 

Barodurn

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2001
Messages
3
Thw message that I get simply says "system32 error" and nothing else... it has me kinda stumped because it doesn't say illeagel opperation od any thing like that. As far as the mocrosoft updates I haven't has the time to download them. It'll probably take forever unless you have some sudestions. Thanks
 
Joined
Apr 25, 2001
Messages
6
I get much the same and have for the past few months. Yes, I do take critical updates all the time and am sure it's tied tto them. I get the message when I go to open up attachments sent to me by friends, In one case, it was a audio file that I sent him last year. Now I can't open it. The message that comes up reads


c:\windows\temporary internet files\content. IE5\UV2EM55M\christmas.(christmas is part of the name of the file) PPS is not a valid win32 application.
 

Barodurn

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 29, 2001
Messages
3
Well I just downloaded the windows critical updates here's hoping it fixes things. I'll let you know
thanks
 
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
149
If the errors are coming from window's
temporary internet files, you could try
to delete them. Make sure your in the right folder
as you can wipe out windows with this.
Reboot computer into dos and type:
cd c:\windows\intern~1
press enter. Then type:
deltree *.*
press enter. It should confirm you want to
delete.
Windows will recreate these files next time
you log go on the internet.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top