1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

I'm having all kinds of restarts on new install hyjackthis included

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by brbpab94, Jan 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. brbpab94

    brbpab94 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2002
    Messages:
    514
    I recently did a clean reinstall of xp and I seem to have all kinds of errors and restarts out of nowhere.I also flashed my bios because ati had some problems with the old bios.can you check to see if anything is wrong?

    le of HijackThis v1.99.1
    Scan saved at 12:08:46 PM, on 1/24/2007
    Platform: Windows XP SP2 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v6.00 SP2 (6.00.2900.2180)

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Ahead\InCD\InCDsrv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zlclient.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\SOUNDMAN.EXE
    C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~4\wcescomm.exe
    C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\Digital Imaging\bin\hpotdd01.exe
    C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\Digital Imaging\bin\hposol08.exe
    C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~4\rapimgr.exe
    C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\Digital Imaging\bin\hpoevm08.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\wscntfy.exe
    C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\Digital Imaging\Bin\hpoSTS08.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\wuauclt.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\ZoneLabs\vsmon.exe
    C:\Program Files\Google\GoogleToolbarNotifier\1.2.908.5008\GoogleToolbarNotifier.exe
    C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
    C:\Documents and Settings\Brian\Desktop\Hyjackthis\hijackthis\HijackThis.exe

    R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://rhodeisland.cox.net/
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Connection Wizard,ShellNext = http://update.zonelabs.com/downloadrequest?updtConfId=1097&updtReqId=105052005
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHlprObj Class - {06849E9F-C8D7-4D59-B87D-784B7D6BE0B3} - C:\Program Files\Adobe\Acrobat 5.0\Reader\ActiveX\AcroIEHelper.ocx
    O2 - BHO: (no name) - {53707962-6F74-2D53-2644-206D7942484F} - C:\PROGRA~1\SPYBOT~1\SDHelper.dll
    O2 - BHO: Google Toolbar Helper - {AA58ED58-01DD-4d91-8333-CF10577473F7} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: &Google - {2318C2B1-4965-11d4-9B18-009027A5CD4F} - c:\program files\google\googletoolbar1.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: (no name) - {DE9C389F-3316-41A7-809B-AA305ED9D922} - (no file)
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Zone Labs Client] "C:\Program Files\Zone Labs\ZoneAlarm\zlclient.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SoundMan] SOUNDMAN.EXE
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [H/PC Connection Agent] "C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~4\wcescomm.exe"
    O4 - Global Startup: hpoddt01.exe.lnk = ?
    O4 - Global Startup: officejet 6100.lnk = ?
    O9 - Extra button: Create Mobile Favorite - {2EAF5BB1-070F-11D3-9307-00C04FAE2D4F} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~4\INetRepl.dll
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {2EAF5BB2-070F-11D3-9307-00C04FAE2D4F} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~4\INetRepl.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Create Mobile Favorite... - {2EAF5BB2-070F-11D3-9307-00C04FAE2D4F} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~4\INetRepl.dll
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - %windir%\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe (file missing)
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - %windir%\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe (file missing)
    O9 - Extra button: Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Windows Messenger - {FB5F1910-F110-11d2-BB9E-00C04F795683} - C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe
    O12 - Plugin for .spop: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Plugins\NPDocBox.dll
    O16 - DPF: {200B3EE9-7242-4EFD-B1E4-D97EE825BA53} (VerifyGMN Class) - http://h20270.www2.hp.com/ediags/gmn/install/hpobjinstaller_gmn.cab
    O23 - Service: Ati HotKey Poller - ATI Technologies Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\Ati2evxx.exe
    O23 - Service: ATI Smart - Unknown owner - C:\WINDOWS\system32\ati2sgag.exe
    O23 - Service: CA ISafe (CAISafe) - Computer Associates International, Inc. - C:\WINDOWS\system32\ZoneLabs\isafe.exe
    O23 - Service: InCD Helper (read only) (InCDsrvR) - Ahead Software AG - C:\Program Files\Ahead\InCD\InCDsrv.exe
    O23 - Service: Pml Driver HPZ12 - HP - C:\WINDOWS\system32\HPZipm12.exe
    O23 - Service: TrueVector Internet Monitor (vsmon) - Zone Labs, LLC - C:\WINDOWS\system32\ZoneLabs\vsmon.exe
     
  2. telegramsam

    telegramsam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,085
    When you did the reinstall, did you reinstall all of your motherboard and video card drivers too? Did it not go smoothly?
    I can't see anything that's obviously wrong there, but I'm no expert in reading those reports..

    Run this program and see if XP is completely up to date:
    http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html

    Also, had you ever done a bios update? You may have erased an important update when you flashed...
     
  3. griffinspc

    griffinspc

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,022
    No lecture here but try and remember that you never want to do two major things like a BIOS flash and a reinstall even remotely close to each other because it makes diagnosing a problem near impossible. Having said that is the XP install a service pack 2 install?
     
  4. brbpab94

    brbpab94 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2002
    Messages:
    514
    yes it's service pack 2 and i reinstalled all the drivers for the motherboard vid card sata card directx is up to date.sound drivers are up to date this should be clean.On one of the crashes it said it was a hardware failure possibly ram,powersuply,cpu or motherboard on another it told me it was true vector which I beleive is zonealarm.
     
  5. telegramsam

    telegramsam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,085
    First get rid of Zonealarm. If this is a home machine, SP2's firewall is sufficient--at least for time enough to see if it is the cause of the problem. I saw a google toolbar in there, get rid of that. Go through your add/remove programs and get rid of everything you don't use.

    Run Adaware and Spybot S&D. There's toolbar in there called "no name"--hopefully S&D will get rid of it.

    Try cleaning everything up, uninstall and reinstall your graphics driver--and when was the last time you opened the case and cleaned up inside? (I'm assuming that since you know your mobo/ram/cpu specs that you built this thing...?) Give that a thorough cleaning, check to see that the CPU heat sink is seated firmly, reseat the RAM, and check all of your PCI cards, IDE cables and electrical connectors to see that they're all seated properly.

    It sounds like you've got several issues going at once here that could be solved with some general housecleaning. In any case, start with those things because they're easy and don't cost anything.
     
  6. brbpab94

    brbpab94 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2002
    Messages:
    514
    I forgot I also replaced the power supply about a month ago,I fogot the name of the power supply but I made sure it was fairly decent.450 wattsThe last one died it was 300 watts and I was useing all of it.
     
  7. telegramsam

    telegramsam

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,085
    Wattage is almost meaningless and has nothing to do with quality.

    So you've done what I instructed earlier and it didn't work then?
     
  8. griffinspc

    griffinspc

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,022
    Was there a reason for the clean install of XP (something not right that you thought the install would fix?) and you said you had some problems with the "old" BIOS. What were they? In short, if you had similar problems before the reinstall and flash then this is most certainly a hardware issue. Also if you opened it up, pulled all the connectors and replaced the PSU then it could be that some of the connections to the board aren't seated properly or it's a bad PSU to begin with.
     
  9. brbpab94

    brbpab94 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2002
    Messages:
    514
    I'm almost sure the new pws is an antec.
     
  10. griffinspc

    griffinspc

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2001
    Messages:
    4,022
    What about the questions I asked?
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/537955

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice