iMac Won't Start -- Will Disk Warrior Save It ?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

rankbeginner

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 24, 2004
Messages
106
My 2013 iMac (with the latest OS X) won't start up. ... After pushing the power button, a light grey screen appears with the apple icon, and slim black progress bar appears. The progress bar moves to about 40 %, then the computer goes black and turns off.
The same thing happens when I try to start up in "Safe" Mode.
I have all my data backed up in the cloud, but not my programs.
This computer is under warranty by Apple, and the tech specialist tried a few things with "DiskUtility", but he could not fix anything.
I am unable to travel, but the tech specialist would not send out a repairman, because he was almost certain that "this is a software issue, not a hardware issue."
So his suggestion was: "Wipe the hard drive, and re-install the operating system."
For me, that is a last resort.
Does anyone know if there is some repair software that might fix this problem:
such as Disk Warrior, or something else ?

Thanks in advance,

Rank Beginner
 

rankbeginner

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 24, 2004
Messages
106
I can get into Disk Utility, and click Verify and some errors show ... but the "REPAiR" button is greyed out and can't be used.
(That happens on the HD that is indented, the second one from the top.)

Working on the top HD, I can click repair, but after repair runs, then a message comes up that says the disk cannot be repaired (or that Disk Utility could not repair it).
* Edit addition: I will run this again and copy down the exact errors and messages.

No, I cannot boot into SAFE mode. (by holding down the Shift key when I power on).

That would save me: if I could re-install the OS without losing my user accounts and Applications ... I thought that was impossible.

Thanks very much ... RB
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
2,609
Sounds like it could be more than just a damaged directory structure.
Will see if the errors you post indicate anything.
 

rankbeginner

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 24, 2004
Messages
106
I started with "Verify Permissions" and it said it would take 19 minutes
More than one hour later, the new time estimate is "one hour and nine minutes." (image uploaded)
I think I should quit this one,and instead run the "Verify".
But if you need this also, let me know.
 

Attachments

rankbeginner

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 24, 2004
Messages
106
On the indented (second from top) Macintosh HD, I ran "Verify Disk"
a pop-up screen said:
The Disk Needs to be Repaired. Click Repair Disk.

But "Repair Disk" is greyed out.

At the bottom of the main window, after many lines of what was checked, there was his message:

The Volume D8448BOB-A2AB-8393-E6C8CF7687 appears to be OK.
Storage system check exit code is 0.
Verify file system
The volume Macintosh HD could not be verified completely
File system check exit code is 8.
Error: The disk needs to be repaired. Click repair disk.

(The image is included only to show information about the HD. )
 

Attachments

rankbeginner

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 24, 2004
Messages
106
Thanks.
I ran the repair disk from the command line.
( booted with Command+S then /sbin/fsck -fy )

** Checking catalog file
CoreStorageGroup: Complete IOReques - error 0x00002ca detected for LVG "Macintosh HD ... "
pv A0158F2F-C2D2-4949-9F0F-1368E2C4B841, near LV bye????=6899892224
disk2: I/O error
**The volume Macintosh HD could not be verified completely. **

===================================

Is it now possible to know if this problem is a hardware problem ?
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
2,609
Is it now possible to know if this problem is a hardware problem ?
Without reformatting, not presently.

Can you run the following 2 commands from the command line:
Code:
diskutil list
diskutil cs list
It looks like the core storage volume is the issue. There is an fsck command for it, but I need the results of those commands to tell you what to try.

If you can put the output in code tags, it's much easier to read.
(Just like an image has opening and closing IMG tags around it, text output is the same but uses openning and closing code tags.
 

rankbeginner

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 24, 2004
Messages
106
Running both those commands
diskutil list
diskutil cs list

gives this message:

Code:
Unable to run because unable to use the DiskManagement framework. Common reasons include, but are not limited to, the DiskManagement framework unavailable due to being booted in single-user mode.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
2,609
You'll have to boot into recovery mode, select Terminal in the menu bar, and try from there.
 

rankbeginner

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 24, 2004
Messages
106
Thanks again.

I booted into recovery mode (with Cmd-R)

but I cannot find Terminal in the menu bar.

I looked at all the submenus under:

Apple Logo * Disk Utility * File * Edit * Image * Window * Help
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
2,609
Weird. I just booted into Recovery Mode to check and it's under the Utilities menu.

Edit: Oh wait. You are in Disk Utility already in recovery mode. You have to exit that application and then in the menu that should appear.
 

rankbeginner

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 24, 2004
Messages
106
Yes, the Terminal option appeared.
Then I ran the two commands:
diskutil list
diskutil cs list

The results are in the 2 attached images.
If they are not clear enough, I will try another way to post this information.
 

Attachments

Joined
Feb 9, 2005
Messages
2,609
Before I give you any commands, I just want to be positive that your iMac has both an SSD drive and a normal platter hard drive, correct?

Edit: Here is the command to try:
Code:
fsck_cs -p -y --uuid 2DC7FCDE-7650-4ACD-88E3-297A213AB43E
If it says that number is wrong, if you look in your pictures you'll see the one I tried to copy.

Edit 2: I grabbed the wrong number. You want the Logical Volume Group from your output.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top