images in Dreamweaver MX

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

DMC2

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 25, 2002
Messages
264
Let's say I insert an image and specify the source that is hosted in some web space. Is it possible to see the image rather than the image placeholder when in Design View? I CAN in FrontPage but can't in DW atm, so is there the option to do so?

Thanks
 

Anne Troy

Anne
Joined
Feb 14, 1999
Messages
11,749
Dreamweaver is web development software, so I'm moving you to the development forum.

:D
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2002
Messages
640
I do not believe you can do sucha thing, it could be possible but I've never really been interested in trying to figure it out, later tonight I will take a look and see.

You really shoudl have your entire site on your computer too, not just your server so you really shouldn't be having the problem your talking about.
 
Joined
Dec 27, 2002
Messages
362
Apparently your question is in two locations because I just answered in on the business applications forum. See my answer there.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
Messages
21,334
Not to mention that linking to images on someone elses server is frowned upon. Ask them for permission to see if you can host it directly from your server.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2002
Messages
640
Originally posted by Rockn:
Not to mention that linking to images on someone elses server is frowned upon. Ask them for permission to see if you can host it directly from your server.
I dont think thats what he means.

I think he means his own site.

Like his img src is http://www.his_host.com/his_image.jpg

or sotmhing like that.

I dont think hes leeching off of other sites.

I could be wrong tho. ;)
 

DMC2

Thread Starter
Joined
Mar 25, 2002
Messages
264
Hi, thanks for the replies...someone can lock my other thread.... sorry for double-threading but thought it just disappeared as there was no redirect link.

Oh, yeah, it's not actually a site. More like webpages I'm creating for ebay auctions and they're my own images that I took with my Digital Camera. Also, it's my own webspace/bandwidth, as my ISP provides it and I'm paying for it. :)

Any ideas on the original question? I like uploading the images and when creating the page, use the URL as the source instead of the path on my computer, as it's not a site.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top