1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Imaging and TWAIN

Discussion in 'Digital Photography & Imaging' started by Billyc21, Dec 31, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Billyc21

Billyc21 Thread Starter

I have been using a Canon 3000 for two years worked perfectly. A few weeks ago I decided to re-arrange computer scanner etc. In the process had plug in and out the cables to the scanner printer and computer.The computer software is Microsoft XP Home Edition.Everything worked as before except the scanner . A notice on the screen stated that 'cannot locate twain source'. To digress I joined this site so that I could help someone else. In my case I found the solution. After working on the Twain source boondoggle calling up the company Canon to no avail looking at suggestions on different sites. However I began to understand how my computer operated . Unfortunately time was being spent on trying to fix the Twain location problem.I decided to get the Canon manual out and take time sit back relax and try and take in the installation. Canon Manual preamble said to put the software back into the computer. Canon software has 6 individual different function groups . Some were to make some of the images better etc. They also told the reader to re-run the software again so I first deleted the Canon software from the computer even went to garbage section and removed any semblance of their software. Then I mounted their software disk and with the aid of pictorials and instructions I installed the six parts of the program as per instructions & pictorials.After slowly going through the installation paused a moment relaxed and started to push buttons see if the twain error message came up on the screen. Low and behold the panel of switches popped up on the screen no error messages