1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Imaging Harddrive

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by LordPython, Aug 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. LordPython

LordPython Thread Starter

Well, I could't fix the problems with my computer, but I narrowed it down to either my motherboard or C drive....so I bought new ones. I currently have my new drive set up as a slave, and I want to make an image of my current C drive onto it, so that way I don't have to reinstall/setup everything. I have never done anything like this before, and would like some help before I try it on my own. Can Windows do this? Do I need special software? I am running Windows XP Pro.

2. qldit

qldit

3. JohnWill

JohnWill Retired Moderator

If your drive was defective, how are you going to read it to image it to the other drive?

4. qldit

qldit

Good Morning JohnWill, yes the drive integrity will need to be determined beforehand.
    Were you aware of this LP?

One easy method to see if a problem will happen is to obtain this HDDRegenerator trial program from
    http://www.dposoft.net/
    Make a bootable media with it. (preferably CD)

Boot on it and follow the defaults and the HDDRegenerator program will run.
    This will scan the drive without altering any data on it.
    It will fix one "bad" spot but may be rerun for a second (When drives really fail they have dozens of bads)

If this program can run successfully it does indicate there will likely be no problem with a clone.

The partition logic can be downloaded off the net and contains it's own operating system so there should be no problem with it.