1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

in deep trouble

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by meetenshah, Oct 2, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. meetenshah

meetenshah Thread Starter

hi,
    i am new to linux and
    i faced some problems,
    i installed the rh9 and it was with 3 partitions in etx2
    then with the rest of the space(total 80 gb)
    i tried to make 3 fat32 partitions for dual booting with win xp
    but it gives me a message that there is not enough space to create a partition while i am left free with 60 gb
    so then i deleted all the partition, and tried to boot with out a boot disk but instead of not booting at all it is booting to grub while no partitions exists.

how do i solve this and after i solve it how do i make winxp and rh9 dual boot from scratch????
    please help..............

2. Whiteskin

Whiteskin

Ibelive that the way you do it is install win first, then use somthing like fips to free up the room for linux, then install linux, and install a system selector. NOt sure, but thats the way i've heard of it being done

btw, the reason windows goes first, is ecause if it goes second it screws the boot system (overwrites lilo or grub)

3. codejockey

codejockey