Inability for a website to open

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Desert Dog2

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2006
Messages
7
I have had finance.yahoo.com as my homepage for several years. Now I receive "No site configured at this address" when I attempt to go to that site on the internet. The research I have done on the web is above my head and/or poorly explained.

If there is a fix that I may use I would appreciate specific information on this issue.


Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, 64 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7 CPU M 640 @ 2.80GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 5
Processor Count: 4
RAM: 3892 Mb
Graphics Card: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5470, 512 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 76310 MB, Free - 24163 MB; D: Total - 211924 MB, Free - 210996 MB;
Motherboard: PEGATRON CORPORATION, B43J
Antivirus: Lavasoft Ad-Aware, Disabled
 

Desert Dog2

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2006
Messages
7
I am using Internet Explorer. I had run across inquiries regarding Firefox so I assume there is a problem with it.
 

Desert Dog2

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2006
Messages
7
I did delete all the temp files. I also used Microsoft's FixIt and I have run antivirus software. I have read, enviously, of those that did this and the problem was solved. I, unfortunately, have a more interesting problem.
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
what happens when you go to yahoo home page & then click on finance from there
does it open then
if it does, then replace your homepage with the new link
 

Desert Dog2

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2006
Messages
7
what happens when you go to yahoo home page & then click on finance from there
does it open then
if it does, then replace your homepage with the new link
Just to be clear, Yahoo is my home page, but previously yahoo.finance was my homepage. When I type in yahoo.finance in a search for it, I do find it but when I click on yahoo.finance is when I get the message that No site configured at this address.
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
make sure that you have allowed all cookies from Yahoo and all pop ups etc
Yahoo divert you to the correct page depending what country you are in, so make sure you have yahoo set to USA & then try finance again
 

dvk01

Derek
Retired Moderator Retired Malware Specialist
Joined
Dec 14, 2002
Messages
56,452
don't type yahoo finance in a search. go to Yahoo.com & on the left sidebar is a link saying finance, click on that
often search engines pick up old, outdated links & you might have been following one of them
 

Desert Dog2

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2006
Messages
7
don't type yahoo finance in a search. go to Yahoo.com & on the left sidebar is a link saying finance, click on that
often search engines pick up old, outdated links & you might have been following one of them
Thanks, I was unaware of outdated links. When I clicked on finance in the sidebar the web page came up. Now I'll save it as my homepage to see if it stays as my homepage. I'll let you know. Can you tell me how one checks to see if Yahoo is set to USA?
 

Desert Dog2

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2006
Messages
7
Thank you, I've set finance.yahoo.com as my homepage. I appreciate the help. If there is no further issue with the home page I won't trouble you. Thanks for the insight.
Jerry
 

Desert Dog2

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 23, 2006
Messages
7
Thank you, I've set finance.yahoo.com as my homepage. I appreciate the help. If there is no further issue with the home page I won't trouble you. Thanks for the insight.
Jerry
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top