inaccessible boot device win2k

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

theses93

Hey guys,
I am new to this so please go easy on me. My so bought a used computer some time ago. He jammed the mouse wire behind his desk and severed the wire while running his computer. No need to say it shorted out his motherboard. I had another motherboard on hand that had the same 370 socket and it fit right into his mini tower. But now comes the thing. I installed the board and hooked up all the drives, hoping that it will start right up. Bad news. Blue screen. Inaccessible boot device. How can I get back into that hard drive without deleting everything thats on it. I hope someone can help me here. Thank you

you can't with that "new" motherboard installed, windows ties itself to the hardware when it's installed, you will have to do a new install of windows.

theses93

how can I install windows without loosing all my other software and data. isnt window overwriting all other items on my harddrive. I can not loose the other data because there is no backup in place

when you reinstall windows do not format, select "leave files intact" & all folders & files should remain on your hard-drive.

crjdriver

The above advise may or may not leave data intact. If you have any secure folders, they will most likely not be available. In addition you will need to reinstall all apps since the registry entries are in the original win2k install not the new one. This method results in two installs of win2k. There is a way to do this without a clean install.

1 Boot your machine and enter the bios. Set the cd as the first boot device; save settings and restart with your win2k cd in the drive.