Incoming Mail Sound in Gmail

dougglos

Douglas
Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 30, 2007
Messages
1,314
Yes, I have just done that, and after closing it I am again left with Gmail maximized on my screen, thus requiring it to be minimized once more. All in all, I think I can cope with that as long as I remember to leave Gmail minimized on my taskbar each time. Bit of a palaver but there doesn't seem to be an easier way to achieve this.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
118,460
Firefox doesn't behave that way. If I open two instances of the browser in separate windows and minimize one when I close the other the first one stays minimized.

I leave my Outlook Inbox open all the time and use other tabs to access sites. All I see is the Inbox rectangle in the taskbar. I understand that everyone has their preferences but I'm still curious as to what about that bothers you?
 

dougglos

Douglas
Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 30, 2007
Messages
1,314
What bothers me about it is that I really do not understand what most of it means! I have even gone to the step of having an Outlook Inbox made available to me, but when I organize an email to my Outlook email address, it arrives OK, but behaves no differently to what happens to emails coming into my Gmail account! As for your Inbox rectangle in the taskbar, I get nothing like that. Anything I minimize, etc., shows a sort of blue coloured conch shell on said taskbar.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
118,460
Perhaps you could attach a screenshot of what you're seeing but first blacken out any personal information like email addresses.
 

dougglos

Douglas
Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 30, 2007
Messages
1,314
Screenshot of my desktop :
1603602615715.png

Does not allow me to show the taskbar which is where the blue icon I mentioned in post #18 is located.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
118,460
What method did you use to take the screenshot? Because it should show the entire screen and I can see something is missing from the bottom.
 

dougglos

Douglas
Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 30, 2007
Messages
1,314
The only method I know, which is:-/

1. Press “Print Screen” key on keyboard while required picture is on screen.

2. Press ALT + PRINT SCREEN KEY together to save image.

3. Go to Tech Support message box, right-click and Paste.



 

dougglos

Douglas
Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 30, 2007
Messages
1,314
Unfortunately I don't own a camera nowadays, and I wouldn't know how to "upload" it anyway.

I'm sorry, Karen, but this has all got too much for me now - I spent hours at my PC last night trying to find out what next I should try. As a very "Senior Citizen", I don't feel able to continue with this matter. So I am just resigned to going to my PC now and again to check visually whether I have received any mail. Actually, I only seem to average one or two incoming emails a day, so that will be no problem for me! I apologise for you having to spend so much time on this, but I'm afraid I will not be looking any further into it. But thanks so much for all your efforts to solve it.
 

Cookiegal

Karen
Administrator
Malware Specialist Coordinator
Joined
Aug 27, 2003
Messages
118,460
It's no problem. It seems we are total opposites as I have all sounds turned off as I find them annoying. :D

I see a little envelope in my taskbar when an email arrives but I also check it regularly anyway but not through the web site as they are imported to Outlook. I rarely visit the website.
 

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
22,209
I'm with Karen. I turn off notifications. I don't want things bothering me!!!

I think he has several customizations, like the analog clock at the top of the screen rather than the digital on the taskbar. You change one thing and it will have an effect on something else.
He has a shortcut to gmail at the top rather than in the quicklaunch section of the taskbar; that could have an effect too.
 

Couriant

James
Moderator
Joined
Mar 26, 2002
Messages
37,698
Well when you open a link, then it will open in a new tab on the active window. You may want to try having 2 windows open by right clicking on the browser icon and choose new window (or click on the dots) but then you will need to leave that second window open for the new links you click on :)
 

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top