1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Inconsistent Wireless Connection

Discussion in 'Networking' started by AlMujtahid, Feb 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. AlMujtahid

    AlMujtahid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    819
    Hello,

    I am having trouble with my laptop WiFi connection. I have a:
    DELL Inspiron 14z
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit

    Ever since I got the new laptop, it has been having the issue. I can connect to a wireless network, and it shows connected. I do not get continuous internet access. Right now I am connected to a Linksys Wireless Router (E2000). I have an Android phone that connects to it and works 100% of the time. My laptop will connect to it, but keeps losing internet connectivity. I have searched quite a bit online for an explanation/solution, but no luck.

    At my shop, I have the same issue, but with a Belkin router. The phone connects and works great, but the laptop will not maintain a consistent internet signal.

    At a buddy's home, both work with no problem.

    Any ideas/solutions would be greatly appreciated. It seems so silly, but I have been reading quite a few reports of people having this issue. Up until I got my new laptop, I never had this issue with my old one.

    Thank you in advance
    Rami
     
  2. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,969
    First Name:
    Terry
    Make sure you have the latest wireless driver from the laptop manufacturer's web site.

    What do you have to do to regain connection?

    What encryption is used at home, at work and at buddy's?

    What firewall or security suite is, or ever was, on the system?
     
  3. AlMujtahid

    AlMujtahid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    819
    Hello,

    I posted this issue before, but got sidetracked and forgot to follow up.

    I am having trouble with my laptop WiFi connection. I have a:
    DELL Inspiron 14z
    Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit

    Ever since I got the new laptop, it has been having the issue. I can connect to a wireless network, and it shows connected. I do not get continuous internet access. Right now I am connected to a Linksys Wireless Router (E2000). I have an Android phone that connects to it and works 100% of the time. My laptop will connect to it, but keeps losing internet connectivity. I have searched quite a bit online for an explanation/solution, but no luck.

    At my shop, I have the same issue, but with a Belkin router. The phone connects and works great, but the laptop will not maintain a consistent internet signal.

    At a buddy's home, both work with no problem.

    Any ideas/solutions would be greatly appreciated. It seems so silly, but I have been reading quite a few reports of people having this issue. Up until I got my new laptop, I never had this issue with my old one.

    Thank you in advance
    Rami
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,252
    First Name:
    Wayne
    is this a genuine copy of windows - did the pc come with that version of windows?

    have you tried connecting to the router with a cable and see if it still disconnects

    would you post the following tests when the internet is working OK, and then repeat ALL the tests when the internet disconnects.
    Make sure you also indicate on the reply which tests are for what condition.

    please include the xirrus screen shots for both conditions - see how below.

    Please post back here the make and exact model of the router and if you have a separate modem, the make and exact model of the modem.

    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the infomation above those entries

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ping Tests
    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop. Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    then press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ): ​

    In the command prompt window that opens

    Type the following command
    Ping {then a space and then add the number that is shown against the item labelled "default gateway" shown in the results from the ipconfig /all}
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping google.com
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Type the following command
    Ping 209.183.226.152
    Post back the results in a reply here
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Run Xirrus Wi-Fi Inspector
    Download and install

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to copy the program across to the faulty PC
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and install the program.
    You will now need to take a screen shot and copy that back to the working PC and attach the screen shot in a reply on the forum here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply

    http://www.xirrus.com/Products/Wi-Fi-Inspector.aspx ( the site now appears to require a business email, so try the direct link below)
    Direct link to the program is here http://info.xirrus.com/Wi-FiInspectorConfirmation.html

    {If the above link does not work heres alternative links
    http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/file_download/fid,77196-order,4/download.html
    http://www.softpedia.com/progDownload/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-Monitor-Download-99109.html
    http://download.cnet.com/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-Inspector/3000-18508_4-75758254.html}


    Then run and install the program - on a wireless enabled PC/Laptop
    if you get an error - You need will need to have NET Framework installed for the WiFi Inspector to function.
    On windows 8 - (i do not have windows 8) but, it would appear that, When you first try to run, you may get a message that .net framework is needed, and included in that message is a link to download/install.

    Run the program

    A user guide is available here http://www.xirrus.com/cdn/pdf/Xirrus-Wi-Fi-inspectorguide-1-2-1-RevB-6.aspx

    post a screen shot of the program running.
    if there are a lot of networks showing can you click on "networks" top lefthand area - so we can see all the network information.

    post which SSID name is yours, its located in the list, under network "Adapter Name" (1st column)


    Note:
    For a reliable (or robust as the Xirrus user guide says) wireless connection you need a signal of about -70 dBm or better. "A desirable signal level for a robust Wi-Fi connection will be green".
    note: the signal level is a negative number, so for example -88 is worst and -40 is better

    To post a screen shot of the active window.
    Windows XP
    Hold the Alt key and press the PrtScn key. Open the Windows PAINT application (Start> All Programs> Accessories> Paint) and Paste the screen shot. You can then use PAINT to trim to suit, and save it as a JPG format file.

    Vista or Windows 7
    you can use the "snipping tool" which is found in Start> All programs> Accessories> Snipping Tool
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/how-to-use-the-windows-snipping-tool/

    Windows 8
    you can use the snipping tool > Open Snipping Tool (From the Windows 8 Start Screen, type "snip" and press enter.
    >Press the Esc. key.
    >go back to your Windows 8 start screen - Swipe from left or press Window Button
    >Press Ctrl+PrntScr button to use Snipping Tool
    see here
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/opinion/windows/3415854/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/
    http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/windows/3405830/how-take-screenshot-in-windows-8/


    To upload the screen shot to the forum, open the full reply window ("Go Advanced" button) and use the Manage Attachments button to upload it here.
     
  5. AlMujtahid

    AlMujtahid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    819
    As a follow up to my previous post, in which TerryNet asked me:

    Make sure you have the latest wireless driver from the laptop manufacturer's web site.
    - Working on that now.

    What do you have to do to regain connection?
    - Seems silly. I click on the WiFi icon in my laptop's taskbar. Then at the top, where it shows what network I am connected to, it will show either Internet Access or No Internet Access. When it says know, i just click the mouse on it, and it comes back.

    What encryption is used at home, at work and at buddy's?
    Home: WPA2-PSK
    I will have to check the others.

    What firewall or security suite is, or ever was, on the system?
    Microsoft Security Essentials
    Windows Firewall
    Spybot Search & Destroy
    Superantispyware
    Sywareblaster
     
  6. AlMujtahid

    AlMujtahid Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2001
    Messages:
    819
    Thank you etaf. WIll work on it now.
     
  7. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    77,969
    First Name:
    Terry
    I've merged your threads here. Please do not start multiple threads on the same topic.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1090026

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice