1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Incorrect Amount of Ram Shown

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by CodeShark, Jan 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. CodeShark

    CodeShark Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Hey, I just bought a Refurbished Laptop from Fry's.

    2.8Ghz 512MB Ram 60 GIG HD.

    The weird thing is, I check the computer properties and it says 384 MB Ram.

    Why is it showing that and not 512 and how do I fix this?
     
  2. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Check the bios setup, how much is the video adapter using? 128?
     
  3. Arcadion

    Arcadion

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,756
    It could be using 128MB of RAM for the display, leaving you 384MB for applications. That does seem an awful lot though. You can probably adjust it down in the CMOS setup (hit F1 or F2 or Del or whatever key it says as the laptop starts up to get into setup). Set it as low as you can, but not lower than 8MB.
     
  4. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    Or maybe it only has 384MB or RAm and not the 512MB it was supposed to...

    But check how much memory the video has allocated to it. You can do that from DXDIAG - click on Start -> RUN -> type DXDIAG and press ENTER.
     
  5. CodeShark

    CodeShark Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Oh damn so that's why. Yea, the video card is usin 128. Thanks!

    What should I lower the Video Card to?
     
  6. winbob

    winbob

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,370
    Gang,

    Like ya'll (I'm from TX) my first thought was that 128mb was going to Shared Video Memory. But I can't find anything documented that talks about this particular card using Shared Memory?

    Doesn't that have to be a part of the card's design specs before it can do that? Anybody know differently about this card?
     
  7. Arcadion

    Arcadion

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,756
    winbob, they didn't even say what make of laptop it was they bought, let alone the model. I don't think they're talking about the desktop computer described in their signature (or the ATI Radeon card it has).
     
  8. winbob

    winbob

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,370
    Arcadion,

    Well DUH on me! :rolleyes:

    No wonder I couldn't find any info on a Mobile version of that card! :eek:

    I looked at the spec listed as you said....guess it's time for BED. :eek:
     
  9. CodeShark

    CodeShark Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    233
    Yea, the laptop I was referring to is a Compaq Presario.

    This one to be exact:
    http://www.pricegrabber.com/search_techspecs_full.php/masterid=3258406

    ATI Mobility Radeon 9000 IGP graphics with 128MB shared DDR memory power beautiful video up to 1024 x 768 on the 15" XGA TFT display

    So how much should I lower the memory usage or should I even lower it at all?
     
  10. angel

    angel

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 1998
    Messages:
    2,736
    Suppose it depends a little on what you are using the laptop for. I would say that 64 should be sufficient for most uses.
     
  11. Arcadion

    Arcadion

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,756
    If you plan to play games on it, set it to 64MB or 128MB. If not, you don't need any more than the minimum required to display 1024x768 in 32bit colour, which is 4MB. It's unlikely that you can set it that low, it's not uncommon for these to have a minimum setting of 32MB (which is fine).
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Incorrect Amount Shown
  1. Automaton539
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    174
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/322724

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice