1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Incorrect "The Audio Service is not Running" message

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Automaton539, May 13, 2019.

Advertisement
  1. Automaton539

    Automaton539 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Ok, so this isn't a biggie, cause my audio is definitely still working, but the sound icon has a red/white cross and when I mouse over it gives the message "The Audio Service is not Running" even though it clearly is. I've tried restarting it using the "services.msg" run command, but it's still there.

    As stated, my audio is definitely working, cause I'm watching, and listening to, Smallville as I type this message. Haven't tried restarting yet, not sure if that'll sort it, but figured I'd ask first, as I'm busy watching stuff. :)
     
  2. Fireflycph

    Fireflycph

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    Messages:
    867
    First Name:
    Morten
    A guess, and only a guess. If you have a separate audio device or a manufacturers device driver? Then it's possible that the native Windows audio service isn't started. Just because the device has a different driver/service. You can always manually remove the Windows audio icon from the notification/System tray. How depends, I believe, on the OS version. Here's a link telling you how to do it.

    https://www.computerhope.com/issues/ch000734.htm
     
  3. Automaton539

    Automaton539 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Ah, no, it's always been the factory installed driver, it only just started doing it today, or, well, yesterday now I guess. It still works perfectly fine, I can adjust the volume using the slider, change the audio out using the drop down list, everything still functions, it just *says* that it doesn't.
     
  4. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    16,859
    First Name:
    Liz
    Two of my computers do that from time to time and since I definitely hear all the sounds, I simply ignore the cross over the sound icon.
    About the only thing you can do is reboot and hope the cross disappears or hide the sound icon from the tray so you don't see the red cross.
     
  5. Rudy2206

    Rudy2206

    Joined:
    May 9, 2019
    Messages:
    8
    I would run the "Troubleshoot Sound Problems" by right-clicking the icon. Just a thought.
     
  6. Automaton539

    Automaton539 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    I use the drop down to change audio quite regularly as I both game and stream shows using my computer, one I need my headset for, the other my telly, so hiding it isn't an option for me, so I'll just ignore it. :)

    First thing I tried. I may not know what *is* causing it, but my profile does (or should, I'll confirm after posting) say that I'm not a tech noob either. :)
     
  7. Automaton539

    Automaton539 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Ah, it did not. I'm sure there used to be a "tech proficiency" box or some such in the profile many moons ago. It does now though. :)
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1227108

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice