1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Incredibly slow internet speeds

Discussion in 'Networking' started by seanmt, Feb 5, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. seanmt

    seanmt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    129
    So for the past few weeks my internet has been going incredibly slow for the majority of the time. I am with Virgin Media on the L package (up to 4Mb).

    Before a few weeks ago my internet speeds tended to be fine and I would regularily get download speeds of 400+ KB/s and upload speeds of around 45 KB/s. But recently I am getting overall download speeds of about 10 KB/s if i'm lucky.

    My download speed seems to be affected the most as my upload speed still gets about 50% of what it should be able to do.

    I use Opera web browser and most of the time when I actually browse websites the speeds can be around 500 B/s which is just ridiculous.

    My Equipment:
    ===========
    WRT54G Linksys router (DD-WRT v23 SP2 firmware)
    Sitecom Wireless Network PCI Adapter MiMoXR WL-151
    Windows Vista Business 32bit


    The driver on my wireless card is up to date (according to Windows Update anyway). My signal strength is usually at least good (3 out of 5 bars). I would try to connect it with a wire but my router is the opposite side of the house.

    My router is WEP encrypted.

    I have attached a screenshot of a DU Meter Stopwatch for 10 minutes. Show information from a 10 minute session of me simply browsing the web at 11pm which is after the peak times for Virgin Broadband. As you can see the average speed is extremely slow.

    Here are my ipconfig /all results:
    =======================================================
    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.0.6000]
    Copyright (c) 2006 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Sean>ipconfig /all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Sean-PC-VISTA
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Sitecom Wireless Network PCI Adapter MiMo
    XR WL-151
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-F6-35-0F-BA
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::69f3:81cd:100e:dcdc%8(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.133(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.1
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.8.100
    194.168.4.100
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 6:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::5efe:192.168.1.133%10(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :
    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 194.168.8.100
    194.168.4.100
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled

    Tunnel adapter Local Area Connection* 7:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 02-00-54-55-4E-01
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:4137:9e50:1c67:2d3d:adfa:4ae7(Pref
    erred)
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::1c67:2d3d:adfa:4ae7%9(Preferred)
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : ::
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Disabled
    =======================================================

    I have yet to phone Virgin about this as we don't currently have a landline phone and I don't want to use a mobile phone as it would literally cost a fortune.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. seanmt

    seanmt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    129
    Any ideas?
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Look ugly, but it sure looks like an ISP issue.

    Try booting in safe mode with networking and do the test again.
     
  4. seanmt

    seanmt Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2004
    Messages:
    129
    Ok i'll give that a try tonight. See how it goes. I'm going to wait til later on after the peak times.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/679933

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice