Infor on a compatible hard drive

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

MPeg3

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
695
I want to install another hard drive in my computer. Gateway won't give me any info on third party hardware. After replacing my video card with a $60 video card which works great after Gateway advised me to order their $299 card as the replacement, I am hesitant to take their advice anyway.

Can anyone tell me if this hard drive would work in my computer. I have a Gateway GT5220 computer. The current hard drive is found at this URL http://support.gateway.com/s/HARDDRV/Westernd/5508836R/5508836Rsp2.shtml

One they recommend is Western Digital Gateway Certified (WD800JD) 80GB

One I am looking at and want to know if it will work is here http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16822135106 Am I right in thinking this is the same hard drive as their certified one?

Thanks
Peg
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
It should work, according to Gateway specs your old drive is PATA not SATA but the computer does seem to also support SATA drives as well.

Why only an 80GB drive though?

There's lots of WD800JD with a wide range of differences. They just want you to buy from them, and it makes it easier for them to support you.
 
Joined
Jul 7, 2006
Messages
1,085
Well, yeah, it will work.

Here is the spec sheet for your motherboard: http://support.gateway.com/s/MOTHERBD/Shared/4006136R/4006136Rsp2.shtml

It has four SATA ports on the board. That's good. They shipped it to you with an IDE drive. Not as good.

But you can certainly use that hard drive. It plugs in much differently than the drive you already have. It does use a different plug from the power supply, however. The Gateway site doesn't really show if you have SATA power connectors on your power supply, so I'd advise either:

1) Get the SATA drive and find a 4-pin to SATA adaptor, or:

2) Get another IDE drive and set it up as a slave drive.

You can find out if you have SATA connectors on your power supply by looking at the free connectors. You're looking for the black end of this adaptor: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16812104652
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
Oh, you probably don't have any SATA cables so buy one of those too.
 

MPeg3

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
695
Triple6 said:
Why only an 80GB drive though?
I don't really need 80GB as I'm sure 40GB would do the trick. But I'm finding new 40GB drives are going for between $40 and $45 (with shipping) on ebay and I can get an 80GB at Newegg for less than $50 which also includes the shipping. Seems like the best way to go. What I want to do is partition my hard drive, but my recovery disks won't allow for it. I plan to install the 80GB as the master and set my 235GB main drive as slave. That way I can reinstall my OS to the 80GB and partition my larger drive. I mainly want all my photos and documents on a different drive than my OS is on, as well as to be able to back up my husbands computer files to a partition on mine. Sound doable?
 

DoubleHelix

Banned
Joined
Dec 9, 2004
Messages
24,388
I've never heard anyone say, "Gee, I wish I had purchased a smaller hard drive." Get the largest one available that you can afford and has a good price point.
 

MPeg3

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 13, 2004
Messages
695
Actually, I don't even know why I tacked the question on. I know for a fact that it is doable. I've done it. My old computer was a 200GB and SONY, of course, wouldn't let me partition it either. I had a 40GB hard drive, so I installed it as master and set the 200GB one to slave. I then installed the origional software and it installed to the 40GB just fine. Then from windows, I set up partitions on the larger drive. Worked great. I don't know why they are so stinky about letting us have control of our own computers. Very frustrating.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top