1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Initial start with new equipment, same mobo

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Duke88, May 6, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Duke88

    Duke88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    I am using the ASRock Z170 Pro4 LGA 1151 with an i5 7400, DDR4 ram, SSD and GPU. I turn on the PC and everything runs fine. I have the Windows OS USB plugged in so I can install it and get working. It doesn't send a signal to my monitor, it doesn't let me in the BiOS.. I'm confused and getting annoyed because it seems I have done everything right. I tried resetting the CMOS but that didn't help.
     
  2. DaveA

    DaveA Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    16,380
    First Name:
    David
    Where did you get this USB with the OS from?
     
  3. Duke88

    Duke88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    I bought it from Best Buy
     
  4. kenbok51

    kenbok51

    Joined:
    May 31, 2011
    Messages:
    762
    USB 2.0 or USB 3.0? Sounds like you can get into the bios if the USB is not plugged in, but once you insert it you can't. Possible short where you plug in if your using the back PC ports (which you should since there directly off the motherboard). But an incorrect bios setting could do that too. The setting would probably have to do with USB or boot. Then there's the possibility that your USB drive is not really bootable and the PC just sits there trying. Can you boot to it on another PC?
     
  5. Duke88

    Duke88 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    May 6, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    I was told from a friend that it could be the BiOS is out of date.. he said to put the old CPU in (I had just used this PC a week ago) but I built my wife a PC and used that CPU. So that's a no...
     
  6. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    40,079
    It is somewhat difficult to understand your post. Is the system completing POST or not? Can you enter the bios? Do you see anything on the monitor ie motherboard splash screen or POST data?

    It would really really help if you posted ALL of your exact system specs. Do not post ddr4 ram; post the exact brand and model# of the ram. Do that for ALL of your parts.
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1209800

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice