1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Input Mask Doesn't Help

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by dab7222, Jan 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dab7222

dab7222 Thread Starter

I'm not an Access expert, but I can use it fairly well. My problem is that I have an HR data base and I want to use an Input Mask for the last name field so that the user won't have to use the upper case. Well, of course, the input mask isn't good for that because we have many with two last names and suffixes and the mask can't address that situation. I've found some code to address this that was given out on the internet, but I don't know where to put it. Can you please help me with this? Thanks a lot.

2. OBP

OBP

If the code looks like this
    Me.describe = StrConv(Me.describe, vbProperCase)
    then you can put it in the Form's "On Current" event procedure for updating old records and in the Field's "After Update" event procedure to handle current records.

3. dab7222

dab7222 Thread Starter

Thank you, OBP. That is the code, and I've tried to enter it a bunch of times, but I keep getting told that Access 2007 can't find the Object Name. Also, I don't have an On Current option. I've tried to enter it in the After Update field, though. Also, will this setting, if I ever get it working, apply to the table as well or only the form? Thanks!

4. OBP

OBP

dab, it applies to the table as long as the table or a query based on it is used as the record source of the form.
    The On Current is a Form event so you need to click on the form's background to get the form results or open the form in design mode.
    If Access can't find the object name you need to carefully check the name of the Field you are trying to work with.