1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Inserting A Dvd - Rw Drive And Wether My Pc Could Handle It??

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by eddstream, Jan 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. eddstream

    eddstream Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    i have recently bought a computer a few months ago which came with a dvd+rw and am looking purchase another drive which can do dvd -rw i am wondering if their is anything i need to know when purachsing one like wether it will connect to my pc and wether my pc can handle it ??
    i have aspace above my current dvd rw drive which appears to be a dummy drive so hopefully i can place it their and i was wonderin wether after purchasing the drive is it easy to install and insert
    ??
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    it will depend on what spare sockets / PSU you have on the cables and how many IDE's you have

    Whats the make and model of the PC

    A lot of drives are + and -
    how old is the PC

    in device manager you may be able to see the make and model of the DVD
    start>
    control panel>
    system>
    hardware tab>
    device manager button>
     
  3. eddstream

    eddstream Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    IT SAISPHILLIPS DVD 8801
    and is their any way to find out all of the other stuff suc as wether it is a dummy drive and stuff like tht
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
  5. eddstream

    eddstream Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    but it wont burn to a dvd- where as it will to dvd+rw
    any ideas??
     
  6. johnpost

    johnpost

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    317

    try different brand of media.

    also use a burn speed that fits the media, as a test try its
    lowest speed maybe 4x.
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,965
    First Name:
    Wayne
    just out of interest why do you want to burn + DVD's
     
  8. eddstream

    eddstream Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2006
    Messages:
    44
    i can burn dvd + i just have loads of discs for - and wanted to get one tht can burn to them and i want to burn some episodes of prison break onto them
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/537702

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice