1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

install 7 onto a solid state drive a good idea or not?

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by jrbuergel, Jun 15, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jrbuergel

    jrbuergel Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    804
    First Name:
    Jim
    My current 2009 store built computer original hard drive is now failing with Windows 7 Home on it, and my disc for 7 install is a OEM type and I want to know if it is a possible and good idea to install it fresh onto my solid state drive, ( an Intel 120 GB )? And I did make a windows full backup to a external eSATA hard drive and I saved all my folders and files also to a external partition drive. Will activate by phone to Microsoft be no problem with my OEM, or will they require me to buy another 7 license? My system has 1 500 GB partitioned up hard drive from 3-2009 when this PC was got new, and the Intel SSD drive. I do have a new 1 TB WD hard drive ready to use if it is not a good idea to restore a backup type of re-install with my OEM 7 disc.

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU E7400 @ 2.80GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 23 Stepping 10
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 8191 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9600 GT, 1024 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 308 GB (254 GB Free); D: 65 GB (27 GB Free); E: 30 GB (14 GB Free); H: 20 GB (19 GB Free);
    Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., P5QL PRO
    Antivirus: Norton Security, Enabled and Updated
     
  2. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,964
    First Name:
    Jay
    Depends on what you have loaded and what you use the computer for
    but I'd suggest something bigger that 120g ....

    My W7 OS is in a 250GB SSD ... (OS only and about 50% full)
    and my data is in a 1TB WD HDD ... (Twins for backup)
     

    Attached Files:

    • Clip.jpg
      Clip.jpg
      File size:
      117.1 KB
      Views:
      1
    • 7.jpg
      7.jpg
      File size:
      174.5 KB
      Views:
      1
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2018
  3. TerryNet

    TerryNet Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    79,562
    First Name:
    Terry
    You probably will not have to activate by phone, but if you do there should be no problem. Changing a hard drive (even to an SSD) does not require a new Windows Product Key.
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - install onto solid
  1. Mirza2120
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    266
  2. Bahawal
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    162
  3. odehart
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    203
  4. tech94
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    282
  5. blackScreened
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    230
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1211600

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice