Install Firefox ESR in addition to Firefox

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Ice4

Is it possible to try out Firefox ESR without installing it over my current version of Firefox? The download page talks about 'switching' over, and I'm not ready to do that.

Thanks for any insight.

plodr

Liz
I think you can but I haven't done it myself. I may have run a portable version at first.

If you are worried, try the portable version of FF ESR
https://portableapps.com/apps/internet/firefox-portable-esr

If you like it, then install ESR.

I've been using ESR, installed, since at least 2016, according to my notes. It gets all the security updates; it just doesn't have some of the other things that constantly need fixing.

Couriant

James
The ESR version is for large corporations to install through the servers and allow policies to manage FireFox. While you get the security options the base application is not updated as often.

If you are not using a work machine, it's not really needed to be on a home computer.

Ice4

Thanks for the link to the portable version. I'll try that one out for a while, and see how it goes.

I believe it was actually some folks here who recommended I try ESR quite a while back, but I hate changing my browser, which is always set up just how I like it, so I was slow to act. But I'm having issues with Pale Moon, which was a good substitute for the regular Firefox for a while, but now I have to make a move

I'm not willing to update to the newest Firefox. Some changes were made a few years back that really didn't work for me (can't remember what it was called, but I'm sure lots of techies in our midst know what I'm talking about, since it was a huge controversy). That's when someone told me that ESR doesn't have that problem, and to give that a try.