1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Install on branded Comp.

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by ilwu500, Feb 16, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ilwu500

    ilwu500 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2004
    Messages:
    3
    Can I install my own OS [xp ] on a used branded {dell- HP -etc} computer
     
  2. llsee

    llsee

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    109
    First Name:
    Larry
    I am not sure what you are really asking, but, the simple answer is: If you own a computer by any manufacturer, you can install any OS that you legally own on that hardware, PROVIDED THAT, the software supports the hardware.

    So, in your example, if you have a used HP or Dell computer, you may install a copy of Windows XP, that has not been previously registered, on that machine. You should first run the compatibility program that is on the Windows XP CD that will check the hardware and provide a list of potential compatibility problems. You should also check the web site of the computer manufacturer to see if there are any potential problems, or required BIOS or driver upgrades needed.
     
  3. bandit429

    bandit429

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,962
    Just wanted to add a little too....never fdisk a compaq or hp or its bye bye bios.
     
  4. Maverick83

    Maverick83

    Joined:
    May 22, 2004
    Messages:
    182
    I have a Compaq system, and I've done plenty of formats to install XP. It wipes out the BIOS settings, not the BIOS. The BIOS are never stored on the hard drive. If they were, they wouldn't be BIOS.
     
  5. bandit429

    bandit429

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,962

    Formatting is not creating a new partition like fdisk does...formatting is preparing an existing partition for an OS...you did not run fdisk when you formatted. In fact if you read some of the links I posted below you will find that there are a few ppl who have...and if you read at hp's site you will find rompaqs are the cure. Essentially pressing f10 gets you into the bios and if you fdisk you have eliminated your access without proper software which effectivly keeps you out of the bios. My point is that compaqs and hp's require more care than a normal branded computer.

    http://www.geek.com/geekside/gs016.htm
    http://forums1.itrc.hp.com/service/...493758+1108619776360+28353475&threadId=800209
    http://doc.vic.computerbank.org.au/hardware/bios_docs/compaq_bios/
    http://www.tek-tips.com/viewthread.cfm?qid=1001908&page=1
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/331544

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice