install software before hooking up any hardware?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

zergpc208

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
1,029
Why does it say in the manual before hooking up a PDA,cell phone,MP3 or Ipod you have to install the software first that came with it?

There are big waring in the manual .
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
80
Xp and other operating systems prefer that the driver be present when it sees a device for the first time. Although Microsoft has a pretty deep set of drivers, some are not totally compatible with every device for that make and type. Installing the software first reduces the probability you will have problems.
 

zergpc208

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
1,029
Xp and other operating systems prefer that the driver be present when it sees a device for the first time. Although Microsoft has a pretty deep set of drivers, some are not totally compatible with every device for that make and type. Installing the software first reduces the probability you will have problems.
And if the OS is not compatible can it damage the device? What about charging the battery.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
80
I have a blackberry 8700 and also loaded RAZR phone works onto my system. Both work well, even using the same USB cable. Many smart phones and PDA systems have software that runs under XP or MAC, depending on your machine.

You can use the USB port to charge your device, assuming you leave your system on long enough to charge it. Running the computer just to charge your device would be a waste of electricity unless it's the only way to recharge the device.

It's not likely that the wrong computer O/S will damage your device, but make sure to NOT run any option that looks like it would wipe out the contents of your device (ie: wipe, erase, factory reset) unless you REALLY want to do that.

I have learned that device manuals are designed to have the user do things in a specific order for a reason. That usually makes for a faster and easier install. I have not followed the instructions and have ended up with lots of frustration and stress, even with 30 years of experience in computers.
 

zergpc208

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 14, 2006
Messages
1,029
You can use the USB port to charge your device, assuming you leave your system on long enough to charge it. Running the computer just to charge your device would be a waste of electricity unless it's the only way to recharge the device.
Do you need the software install on the computer to charge the device?
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2008
Messages
4
I had a Motorola V8 and winxp didn't have the driver. I couldn't explore it and it wouldn't even charge (until I got the software).
However, I had an LG phone (or maybe Panasonic), that was recognized as and external usb drive. I couldn't explore this one either, but it did charge.

I would say, just try it and share your experience.;) My guess is if your OS can recognize SOMETHING in it, it will at least charge.
 
Joined
Oct 1, 2005
Messages
80
That depends on the device. The blackberry requires the software to be installed in order to recharge the phone using the computer. You could connect your device's cable to a live USB connection and see if it shows a charging indicator. Some are picky and some aren't.

If you plan to use a USB hub for the device's connection to the computer, make sure it has an external power source. A USB mouse or keyboard don't need power, but some other devices do. Both of my USB hubs use external power and I have had no problems connecting any device to them.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
1,838
If you plan to use a USB hub for the device's connection to the computer, make sure it has an external power source. A USB mouse or keyboard don't need power, but some other devices do. Both of my USB hubs use external power and I have had no problems connecting any device to them.
why is this a problem?
All USB devices (including keyboards and mice) require power, it's just a question of how much. Your computer provides up to 500mA of current to the USB ports. If you plug a hub in without its own power supply, the hub itself is powered from your computer's bus. Everything else you plug into that will then draw power from that same source. It can add up fast and eventually be more than the computer's port is designed to supply. If the hub has its own "wall wart" power supply, the devices on it will then draw from that rather than the computer.

Drawing too much current from the port can cause the voltage to drop and devices to disconnect, or in some case can causes crashes or random reboots. Some devices (such as hard drives) may not run at all without sufficient current.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/USB#Power
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2005
Messages
414
You also save the step of having to upgrade to the latest manufacturer driver after Windows installs its own generic & usually stripped down and/or dated version.

Also, in the case of Vista, which doesn't really play too nice with some hardware(mice and printers come to mind)... it's recommended to NOT allow it to install its drivers, but only the manufacturer's.

I would go the extra step of installing the driver from disc AND update from maker... and in the case of Vista the extra utilities the maker bundles as well. Normally the latter is NOT recommended, but in the case of Vista these apps will usually have tricks and workarounds for Vista's lack of support-- one example: they may start necessary windows services, without which the peripheral might not work or even install at all.

re Vista, i'm thoroughly disgusted with diminished peripheral functions re mice, printers, scanners, fax... to name a few.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Messages
1,838
Umm, because hardware won't work without its drivers?

Or do you mean, why is it such a big issue to install them before plugging in the device?

As has already been noted, it isn't always - it depends on how the manufacturer has designed and built their installation process. RTFM first - if they say to install the software first, it's a good idea to install the software first. If they say to plug the device in first, then do that.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top