Installation problems in WinXP

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Teh_Stu

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
4
Building a rig for a friend. Got everything hooked up, and trying to install XP. I'm getting an error after the drivers load in the installation process of STOP 0x0000007b.

I've checked with m$ and found no help from there. The hard drives once had Win2k on them, but I loaded FreeBSD long enough to cut the partitions and FDISK from there as well with the same results.

Systems specs:

Gigabyte M61P-S3 motherboard.

2 GB Transcend DDR2 800 Dual channel RAM (2x1GB)

AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ AM2

PNY Verto GeForce 8500 GT PCIE (512)

SB Live!

Main HD is a Maxtor 40 gig (IDE)

Secondary HD is a Seagate 60 gig (IDE)

Lite-On CD-RW

SYBA SD-ATA133R PCI IDE Controller Card
------------------------------------------------------

I've now swapped both HDs as masters, and get the error with both, as well as 2 different copies of XP. I'm starting to think it's either the Mobo, or the controller card, but am at a loss to where to start looking.

Any help? :)
 
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
266
Teh_Stu said:
Building a rig for a friend. Got everything hooked up, and trying to install XP. I'm getting an error after the drivers load in the installation process of STOP 0x0000007b.

I've checked with m$ and found no help from there. The hard drives once had Win2k on them, but I loaded FreeBSD long enough to cut the partitions and FDISK from there as well with the same results.

Systems specs:

Gigabyte M61P-S3 motherboard.

2 GB Transcend DDR2 800 Dual channel RAM (2x1GB)

AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ AM2

PNY Verto GeForce 8500 GT PCIE (512)

SB Live!

Main HD is a Maxtor 40 gig (IDE)

Secondary HD is a Seagate 60 gig (IDE)

Lite-On CD-RW

SYBA SD-ATA133R PCI IDE Controller Card
------------------------------------------------------

I've now swapped both HDs as masters, and get the error with both, as well as 2 different copies of XP. I'm starting to think it's either the Mobo, or the controller card, but am at a loss to where to start looking.

Any help? :)
Have you tried just installng with one HDD and without the controller and see if you get the same error?
 

Teh_Stu

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
4
Striker840 said:
Have you tried just installng with one HDD and without the controller and see if you get the same error?
Yep, that was a no go as well.
 
Joined
May 15, 2006
Messages
11,849
Have you tried deleting the partitions and formatting since you had free bsd on the drive?
 
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
266
Well you have eliminated the controller card as the issue, is there any way you can test the ram?
 

Teh_Stu

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
4
ozrom1e said:
Have you tried deleting the partitions and formatting since you had free bsd on the drive?
Yes. I hooked both drives up as my secondary running XP and formatted to NTFS.


Striker840 said:
Well you have eliminated the controller card as the issue, is there any way you can test the ram?
RAM worked fine on my machine as well.
 
Joined
May 2, 2007
Messages
266
Sorry it took so long to respond, I actually had to do my job LOL
Had a laptop with a power issue in one of our cars, swapped out inverters, still nothing, traced the power from the inverter to the laptop and checked the plug on the converter, bingo. Works like a charm.

Anyways, my last suggestion would be to try a different PCI slot but, if they wont load directly connected to the MB the last thing in the loop IS the mb.

Actually I have one more suggestion, put the drive in a known good tower and see what happens. If it fails then its the drive, if it loads then its the board.
 

Teh_Stu

Thread Starter
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
4
Well, an update. Seems the Mobo CD had the incorrect SATA/RAID driver on it, and windows wouldn't take it. Downloaded directly from Giga's site, and forced it, and XP installed just like it should. So this issue is clear.

XP. :mad:
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top