1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

installation problems plextor 2410TA

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by renton72, Dec 28, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. renton72

    renton72 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    44
    My O/S is Windows XP
    I have installed my new Plextor drive on the second IDE as master with no other devices as indicated in the installation instructions. The drive has power but when win xp boots i get the message 'BOOT DISK FALIURE PLEASE INSERT BOOT DISK AND PRESS ANY KEY', this is just after my memory check is complete and the computer is looking for IDE devices. If i disconnect the drive the computer boots into xp and everything is fine.
    I have tried the jumper on both SLAVE and MASTER but get the same problem.

    Any help will be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    Is there a CD on the tray? ALso check your BIOS for the boot order so it isn't trying to boot from the CD-ROM first. Did you use the cable that came with the drive or one that was already in the PC?
     
  3. renton72

    renton72 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    44
    I hadnt thought thsty could be a cd in the tray, thanks for the idea ill look.

    The BIOS is set up correctly first floppy, second HDD etc.

    I used the cable that came with the drive.

    Thanks for the reply
     
  4. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    I bet your primary IDE cable came loose somewhere.
     
  5. slipe

    slipe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    6,832
    What computer? If it is a Compaq you probably have to use cable select.
     
  6. renton72

    renton72 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    44
    Thanks for the reply, it is not a compaq.

    This is still puzzling me! :)
     
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63232

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice