1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Installation Problems

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by miamimac, Sep 28, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. miamimac

    miamimac Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    Whenever i try to install something my computer shuts down during installation. Actually it restarts.

    i tried downloading and installing updates off of windows site and it did the same thing.

    the system reboots in the middle of installation.

    upon restarting it tells me the system has recovered from a serious error. the error reports states it's a driver device problem but has no other details.

    thanks for the help.
     
  2. Cookies

    Cookies

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    Messages:
    489
    Check the device manager for any yellow exclaimination marks or red X's. If you see any, check for a driver update, or rollback to a driver you know that worked successfully.

    Check the event viewer too. It should provide some more detailed information, and if you don't understand how to interpret it, post a screenshot.

    Run a good virus scan for good measure, too.
     
  3. espressoguy

    espressoguy

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,119
    I can't even install a virus program. Every time I try and download it is successful...sometimes. But when I try to install it shuts down in middle. I just fdisked and reformatted hd. What can I do???
     
  4. itlu

    itlu

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    In case you dont need data on your hard disk you can formatt it but another way is to boot up in DOS and perform CHKDSK for errors on hard drive and then if no errors dre found and still error remains try clearing CMOS setting and restart system.
     
  5. espressoguy

    espressoguy

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    1,119
    when I clear cmos settings what are the new settings going to be? Do I have to manually set them in BIOS?
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Installation Problems
  1. hurdvialjm
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    389
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/168093

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice