1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Installed new HD - Unable to load Vista from Recovery DVD

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by wjswarthout, Dec 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. wjswarthout

    wjswarthout Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    I have an HP Pavilion running Windows Vista Home Premium. The model is a DV6633us.
    The hard drive died, and I purchased a new one, and ordered recovery CD's from HP. I installed the HD and when I tried to run the recovery CD's, it tells me it is unable to complete. I get a black screen, tells me to put the recovery CD's into the drive and reboot, it will go through the install again (about 1 hour) and reboots a few times, and back to the black screen. Am I missing something???
    Thanks
     
  2. gfne

    gfne

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    660
    Is you old drive out or in?
     
  3. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,745
    First Name:
    Frank
    Here is the support and software update site for the HP Pavilion dv6633us laptop which you should add and save to your browser favorites/bookmarks list so you can refer to it when needed.

    It came with the original version of Windows Vista Home Premium(32-bit) pre-installed.

    Here is the section on doing a system recovery.

    It's possible that HP sent you the wrong recovery kit.

    ------------------------------------------------------------------.
     
  4. wjswarthout

    wjswarthout Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    The hard drive that is in there is new. The old one went bad.
     
  5. gfne

    gfne

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    660
    So you took the old drive out?
     
  6. wjswarthout

    wjswarthout Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Yes the old one is out
     
  7. gfne

    gfne

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    660
    Can you confirm the new one is recognized in the BIOS?
     
  8. wjswarthout

    wjswarthout Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Yes the bios test Comes back good. I tried to attach screen shots but for some reason it is not working
     

    Attached Files:

  9. wjswarthout

    wjswarthout Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Oh. It looks like they did attach. Thanks
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/969432

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice