1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Installed sound card... no sound

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Thursday, Sep 23, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Thursday

Thursday Thread Starter

Hello,

I added a sound card to my HP pavilion, with Windows ME, computer and I have experienced several stages of soundlessness. Where once there was nothing, the Device Manager and Audio tab in Sounds & Multimedia now display the sound card devices (ran BIOS setup program and loaded default settings per "if all else fails" section in manual). Unfortunately... still no sound.

I'm new at this and I'm not sure what information you require.

Any help would be very appreciated.

2. dustyjay

dustyjay

First Name:
    Jay
    When you say that device manager displays sound card devices does it show both the new sound card and the onboard sound card if any? if so do your speakers work when plugged into the onboard sound? If so you may have to disable your onboard sound before your new card will work. To do this determine which device is the onboard sound and remove the device in device manager. If you should want this device back instead of the sound card you can do this with a system restore. what type of sound card did you install?

3. GwizJoe

GwizJoe

Hello Thursday,and welcome to TSG...

Well...,to start with,you probably didn't do yourself any favor if you set your BIOS to the "Default Value" settings.
    So we will take this slowly...
    First of all,I would like to know if the system had sound before you added this card?
    It may have had an on-board sound device that was not disabled in the BIOS after you installed this card,and the system gets confused as to what it should use.