1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Installer

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Billjh, Dec 7, 2017.

Advertisement
  1. Billjh

    Billjh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    I'm trying to install a program, but I get a message stating as follows: The installer has insufficient
    priviledges to access the directory. Need some assistance ?

    Thanks,
    Billjh

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.4
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Professional, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU G2020 @ 2.90GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 58 Stepping 9
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 3983 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, 1799 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: 74 GB (8 GB Free); D: 0 GB (0 GB Free); F: 465 GB (48 GB Free);
    Motherboard: ECS, H61H2-WM
    Antivirus: Avast Antivirus, Enabled and Updated
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    8,596
    If it's an EXE file try right-clicking it > Run as administrator.

    If the above doesn't help or it's not an EXE file please post the name of the program and/or post the link you downloaded it with.
     
    Last edited: Dec 7, 2017
  4. Billjh

    Billjh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    https://www.tracker-software.com/product/pdf-xchange-editor
    It is an exe. but it still does not work with admin. This is the address;
     
  5. managed

    managed Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    8,596
    Thanks for the link, I downloaded the Zip, extracted the Exe and ran it and it installed, so I think the download itself is ok. This was in Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit.

    If there is more text in the error message than you mentioned in the first post please include it in your next reply.

    Is your User account an Administrator account ?
     
  6. Billjh

    Billjh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    Yes I am the Admin. Is there another way to recreate another Directory ?
     
  7. dckeks

    dckeks

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    928
    What directory are you downloading the file into? Have you tried moving to another directory? Have you checked the Permissions on the directory?
     
  8. Billjh

    Billjh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    How do i move to another directory ?
    And how many am i to have beside C:\
    Nort familiar as to how ?
     
  9. dckeks

    dckeks

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2017
    Messages:
    928
    Is it currently in C:/? If so, that is probably the issue. You can either cut and paste it or drag and drop it from one location to the other. Let me know if you need more details
     
  10. Billjh

    Billjh Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Messages:
    11
    What location do i place it in? What other directory ? Please explain ?
     
  11. dvk01

    dvk01 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    52,089
    move it to desktop & try from there
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1200757