1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Installing 2000 over 98?

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by BigTex, Jan 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. BigTex

    BigTex Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    616
    Hello everyone, I'm in need of some help. I friend of mine has WIN 98, she upgraded her business program which requires at least WIN 2000. So her computer is freezing up and she can't work on it at all. So I have a questions.

    1. If she upgraded to WIN 2000 will it run ok if she doesn't do a clean install (don't want to lose any information)?
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    OK? It's possible to upgrade and end up with a functional system. OTOH, it's quite likely that you'll end up with a less than stable system doing this upgrade. Any problems that currently exist with the W98 system will still be there, and many applications won't survive the upgrade anyway.
     
  3. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Historically on at least half of the computers I tried to upgrade from Win98 to Windows2000, I wound out reformatting and doing a clean install afterwards.

    While it initially seems to save time, the likelihood of poor performance and instability generally makes a clean install a better choice. This is especially true when going from basically a DOS based operating system to a NT based one.
     
  4. BigTex

    BigTex Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    616

    This is what I told her, at this point she's willing to take that chance.
     
  5. BigTex

    BigTex Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    616
    Ok she installed WIN 2000, and everything is running fine, with the exception of install the printer it's a HP 5150. When she put the driver in for the printer she got an error message to enable USB in the BIOS. How is this done?
     
  6. BigTex

    BigTex Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    616
    When she tride to enter the BIOS a keyboard error message appears?
     
  7. Bob Cerelli

    Bob Cerelli

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2002
    Messages:
    22,468
    Can you please give the error. It's tough to offer specific suggestion with only general information.
     
  8. BigTex

    BigTex Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2003
    Messages:
    616
    Hi Bob,
    The first error message: says to enable USB in the BIOS.
    Now, when she tries to get into the BIOS by holding down the Delete key the error message says: 431 or 411 keyboard error. And that's all it says?

    TIA
     
  9. killah

    killah

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    229
    computer thinks the keyboard has a stuck key since she is holding it down....try tapping the delete key.. :)
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/322928

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice