1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Installing a florescent fixture(s)

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (Not Computer-Related)' started by GoneForNow, Jan 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. GoneForNow

    GoneForNow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    12,427
    My garage has one standard light bulb (single socket fixture) (100 watt) attached to the ceiling in the middle of the garage. To say that the light is inadequate would be the understatement of the year. There is only one switch for the light, next to the door which leads into the house.

    How hard is it to replace the standard fixture with a four bulb florescent fixture? In essence, is the wiring coming out of a florescent fixture going to match what is currently there? Would it be possible to put in two 4 bulb florescent fixtures?
     
  2. buck52

    buck52 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2001
    Messages:
    8,373
    Howdy gbrumb

    It should be quite easy. The florescent fixture should have a black and white wire the same as the exisiting one as well as a bare ground wire. Usually there will be a green screw supplied with the florescent unit that the bare ground wire connects to.

    The wires in the box for the old fixture will be, of course, to short to connect directly to the new florescent fixture so you will need some wire and a few wirenuts etc: to make the job look good.... my bosses favorite line..." don't care if it works as long as it looks good"... of course I'd be fired if it didn't work also... ;)

    To add a second fixture just jumper the wires from the first fixture to the second matching the colors...

    There are code issues that vary from place to place but no need to go into them other than don't bury/conseal the old box that will have connections in it... that's pretty universal, can't bury a juction box...

    buck
     
  3. iltos

    iltos

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2004
    Messages:
    18,287
    bucks right, gb....a 4 bulb flourescent fixture is just a BIG light fixture....same wiring rules apply
     
  4. GoneForNow

    GoneForNow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    12,427
    Gracias los caballeros
     
  5. Guyzer

    Guyzer

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    12,098
    First Name:
    Guy
    Gettin' on your wifes nerves are you? May your timeouts in the garage be filled with much light.
     
  6. johnpost

    johnpost

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    317
    in adding one or two fixtures:

    run the cable from the new fixture(s) to the light socket box.
    mount this cable to the sides of ceiling joists, not the top
    or bottom where they are likely to get bumped, poked
    or something laid on it. the cable needs to be kept
    out of harms way, exposed is fine just not where
    can get knocked around.

    put a cover plate on box which used to hold
    light socket.

    i would have two lights in the garage, an
    incandescent one for quick on and off
    so you don't trip over stuff. the fluorescent
    lighting for working. fluorescents are
    slow to come on and will wear out with
    frequent on/off. so i would have the
    flourescents on pull chain switches,
    it can be wired up parallel to the existing light
    in the center. if the incandescent light
    in the center doesn't have a pull chain
    socket then you could put one on and
    be able to switch that light off while
    the fluorescents were on.
     
  7. GoneForNow

    GoneForNow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    12,427
    Its were I got the beer and the 60" plasma. ;)
     
  8. wacor

    wacor Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    27,340
    Good lord with the amount of wealth you have amassed you are going to do this yourself rather than hire an electrician?? :eek:

    You cheap SOB !! :p :p :D :D

    Actually it is a piece of cake. Even something a lawyer could do !! :D :D
     
  9. GoneForNow

    GoneForNow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    12,427
    Actually the wife is making me do it. I think she thinks she'll collect on the life insurance. :p ;)
     
  10. wacor

    wacor Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Messages:
    27,340
    You might have something there !! :D
     
  11. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,791
    Well that is why you want to turn the power off out at the panel and pad lock it so your wife can't collect. :D
     
  12. GoneForNow

    GoneForNow Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    12,427
    Good idea Hewee! ;)
     
  13. hewee

    hewee

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    57,791
    Plus your know your safer too gbrumb if turning the power off to where your working effects other parts of the house and then some other person without knowing your doing work goes out and turns the power on. With it locked they can not do that.
     
  14. johnpost

    johnpost

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    317
    residential equipment rarely has lockouts

    putting a piece of tape over a breaker handle
    on the off position or over the empty fuse
    socket will work.

    taping a sign saying you are working on
    that circuit on the front of the box is also
    good. that is done even if the circuit
    has been locked out.

    plus telling people in the household what you are doing
    also is important to be extra safe and they won't
    be surprised when some circuit may not work. also
    they know to check on you periodically to see if you
    shocked yourself on a still energized circuit (that
    you didn't really turn off or when going into
    junction boxes you could have 2 or 3 circuits
    in them and the others still be live) or you
    might have fallen off a ladder.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/536801

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice