1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

installing a modem on NT4.0

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by tiredofPCs, Nov 30, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tiredofPCs

    tiredofPCs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Hi everybody,

    I had an 14K external Boca modem installed on my NT4.0 machine and was working perfectly. I wanted to change to an internal 56K modem (Creative DI5655), but after several hours of hard work I realized that I can't.

    Please tell me the proper way to install an internal modem on an NT machine. I will be more than grateful.

    Thanks
     
  2. Max19

    Max19 Account Disabled

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,222
    You have to purchase a modem that has support for Windows NT. Then you install the modem and the drivers.
     
  3. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,135
    Hiya

    I've just done a search on that modem that you mentioned and its not got any drivers that can be downloaded for WinNT.

    eddie
     
  4. tiredofPCs

    tiredofPCs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks,

    I will try another modem.
    But is NT plug-and-play like win98? Will it detect my modem ?(given that it is NT-compatible)
     
  5. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    36,135
    I'm assuming so. I have Win2000 and that detects it, and if not, just go to the Add/Remove Hardware Wizard. And considering Win2000 is built on NT technology, I assume it'll work.

    Regards

    eddie
     
  6. Max19

    Max19 Account Disabled

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,222
    No, Windows NT is not plug and play. That's an improvement in Windows 2000. Windows NT can be tricky when it comes to hardware installation. You need to purchase a modem that explicitly states it works on Windows NT. I don't have a Windows NT computer here at the moment, but I'm not entirely sure there's an Add Hardware Wizard available on Windows NT. There should be instructions with the modem on how to install it under Windows NT.
     
  7. tiredofPCs

    tiredofPCs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks again,

    I've tried another modem (Askey) with an NT driver, and it really worked.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - installing modem
  1. howard.a.s
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    557
  2. plankman
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    727
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60211

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice