1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

installing a new motherboard

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by andypp, Feb 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. andypp

    andypp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    dose any body know where there is a good step by step guide on how to fit a new mother board
     
  2. xtreampb

    xtreampb

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    189
    when finding a mobo look for the size it is eaither ATX micro ATX BXT or somthing like that and find a case with the same size it will be stated in the specs. but as for a guide i could tell you how but i dont know of a website. you could google it or go to www.ask.com maby even wekipedia might have somthing
     
  3. DoubleHelix

    DoubleHelix Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    24,388
    Replacing a motherboard is a pretty involved process. Do you have any experience working with hardware? Basically what you're doing is taking everything out of your current system and putting it all back onto a new board. It's no different than building an entire system except you only purchased one piece.
     
  4. xtreampb

    xtreampb

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    189
    also take detailed notes of what the setting are for you current mobo
     
  5. bigbear

    bigbear

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    4,719
    You will also have to consider the operating system as it wont recognize the new mobo.
     
  6. andypp

    andypp Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    the motherboard is a asus A7V226-E/AA fitted every thing in and all the wires the lights light up on the front of the tower but it dosent load any thing from the hard drive
     
  7. crjdriver

    crjdriver Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    38,806
    Have you checked the sticky at the top of the forum? There is a section on mounting a new board in the case.
     
  8. xtreampb

    xtreampb

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2007
    Messages:
    189
    how did you plug in your HDD

    SATA IDE SCSI
     
  9. Leec65

    Leec65

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    268
    if all the fan come on then like bigbear said you will have to reload the OS and on that board all you have are IDE hard drives
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/544261

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice