Installing A PCI-Express Slot?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

soapyrx

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 6, 2005
Messages
4
I just bought a emachine (T5026) which contains only 2 PCI slots although there appears to be room for a PCI-E slot. Anyone hear or know to install one or if it can be done?
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
The computer should have a PCI-E slot, what do you want to use it for?
 

soapyrx

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 6, 2005
Messages
4
I want to install a new graphics card since the one supplied kinda sucks. Something better so i can play games like hal-life 2 and so on. I was looking to get a geforce 6600 but that requires PCI-E.
hhm i could have sworn i saw only 2 PCI slots. I guess i'll have to look again. Even with the PCI-E x 1 slot that wouldn't work with most of the new PCI-E cards since they are all x 16 would they?
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2004
Messages
3,765
no it wouldnt work, I dont even know if they make graphics cards for PCI Express x1. You could spend 100 bucks on a new mobo that has the slot you want, or just go for a PCI graphics card, even one of those would be an improvement over the onboard video.
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
There seems to be some conflicting information on this. Some sites mention x1, others, x16, and yet others say it doesn't have PCI Express at all. Being an Emachine anything is possible.
 

soapyrx

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 6, 2005
Messages
4
man that sucks. oh well. Triple6 which sites are you looking at? I searched at bestbuy and even futureshop.ca and they just list 2 x PCI only. The emachines website doesn't even list at all what slots are available
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
soapyrx said:
man that sucks. oh well. Triple6 which sites are you looking at? I searched at bestbuy and even futureshop.ca and they just list 2 x PCI only. The emachines website doesn't even list at all what slots are available

Be this a lesson, don't buy Emachines junk.

I looked through different results searching from Google.

Also if you look up the Intel 915GV chipset it says it can support 4 PCI Express x1 slots.
 

soapyrx

Thread Starter
Joined
Feb 6, 2005
Messages
4
well the computer was still a good deal but i guess that's why it was so cheap. You guys got any recommendations for the best PCI graphics card available?
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
A regular PCI video card won't be better then the Intel Media Accelerator. You should be able to allocate up to 224MB of RAM to the onboard video in the BIOS or in the driver settings.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top