1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

installing admin tools and active directory...

Discussion in 'Networking' started by bparkerson04, Nov 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bparkerson04

    bparkerson04 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Hey guys,
    I am a networking major in college right now, and this is going to sound horrible, but i was wondering how you install the admin tools and Active directory on windows xp pro. I know on server 2003, you have that window that comes up when you first boot into the os, where you can choose a server role, and choose domain controller to get AD, but how do you do this in xp pro? is it only possible to do it online? is there another way to install AD in 2003 besides choosing a server role?
    As a matter of fact, could someone possibly post the options and ways of installing AD on both OS's (including installing the admin tools, which i think are already there when you install server 2003 on a system???). It has been a while, and i have forgotten alot of this, and was wondering about it last night, and google didn't help. Thanks in advance guys!(y)
     
  2. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
  3. bparkerson04

    bparkerson04 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    I'm not sure. I want to install the Admin Tools pack, and have active directory installed on an xp pro system, but I am not sure how to do it. I am running xp pro (sp2). I know you can install the Admin Tools pack, and have AD on xp pro, but I am not sure how to install it. I know in Server 2003, you can go to manage your server role, and just make the machine a domain controller, but I don't know what to do in XP pro.
     
  4. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You can't make XP a domain controller.
     
  5. bparkerson04

    bparkerson04 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    21
    Right, I am aware of this, but you can put Active Directory Tools on it, and I am wanting to know how. The only way I know how to put AD tools on Server 2003 is through the server role management program, and I was just using that as an example.
     
  6. bparkerson04

    bparkerson04 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    21
  7. jmwills

    jmwills

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,477
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/650969

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice