1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Installing an older graphics driver.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mr wolf, Oct 2, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mr wolf

    mr wolf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    226
    Hi,

    I have a radeon 9800 pro, with the latest Catalyst drivers installed.

    I am having some glitches with games, and have been told that reverting to the earlier driver shoulf fix them.

    Is there any procedure I should be aware of while installing older drivers?

    Should I do it in windows safe mode, for example?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Rockn

    Rockn

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2001
    Messages:
    21,334
    I don't know why the catalyst drivers would cause you any problems unless the other hardware on your PC wasn't using the lates drivers. I would go to theor forum and ask around about your particular problem and I am sure it will get solved. The latest drivers normally make your system perform better in MOST cases.
     
  3. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    I don't think you can install video adapters in safe mode. Have you tried reverting back to the drivers that came with the card?
     
  4. mr wolf

    mr wolf Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2003
    Messages:
    226
    Rockn, there is a problem with dynamic lighting in JK3, other players have told me that they fixed it by installing the older drivers.

    A quick fix is not necessarily the best, i know, but I would rather just get it working for now and hope that it is fixed when the new catalyst comes out.

    AcaCandy, Reverting the drivers to the ones that came with the card is exactly what I want to do. :)

    But do you know if I need to uninstall the old ones first? And if so, how?

    Thanks.
     
  5. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Well, I myself, normally just run the setup.exe program and let it cry about installing older drivers, I think most recommend removing them. I think ATI should have an add/remove option....at least my 7000 does.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/169031

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice