Installing antivirus

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

TonyS

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 29, 2001
Messages
14
Hi everyone

I posted a while back on problems installing Win98. I got help and it is installed. However, I’m trying to upgrade from IRIS antivirus for Win 95 to McAfee for Win 98. I keep getting an error message: “Illegal operation will shut down - autorun caused a general protection fault in module s3_2rv @0001.0001926.”

TonyS
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hi TonyS,

First, have you uninstalled this IRIS antivirus, before attempting to install McAfee (shock, horror..:D)
 

TonyS

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 29, 2001
Messages
14
Tony

We have a popular name. Were you horrified at me trying McAfee? Or something else? Don't worry. I have a sense of humor. No, I haven't uninstalled - but I have had more than one anitvirus program running before. Is this a mistake?

I've used McAfee before, and also Norton. After surfing the net in more than one of these type of forums, I know people have had problems with just about every program out there.

I can uninstall, but my add/remove in my control panel doesn't give me that option. Or at least i haven't figured it out yet. Can I just drag the icon into the recycle bin and send it gibbering off to cyberhell?

TonyS
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Hi Tony,

Ií's not a good idea to have two virus scanners running simultaneously, for when push comes to shove, they may dispute each other the right to handle a virus infection, with disastrous results.

You were right to notice :)D) that I'm not much of a McAfee fan.
I used McAfee for a year or so, and when it works it works, but it is certainly not the best you can get, and you hear a lot of reports of bugs and conflicts in connection with McAfee.

Better choices: Norton, Nod32, Vet antivirus.

And you shouldn't just discard the program's folder in Program Files.
When you install a program it puts files all over your hard disk, not only in Program Files, but also in C:\Windows and C:\Windows\System, not to memtion the registry.
Deleting a program like that is a recipe for trouble.

What you could do, is go into the options of IRIS, and uncheck 'load IRIS as Windows starts', or something similar.
Reboot, and IRIS won't be active, so it won't cause trouble either.

Then install another antivirus.

Good luck,
 

TonyS

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 29, 2001
Messages
14
Tony

Ack! There isn't an option like that anywhere in the IRIS folder. As a matter of fact I couldn't find anything even remotely resembling it anywhere is the system. It's like IRIS is forcing you to upgrade to their software - which of course i can do (if they haven't gone out of business by now). I was aiming too high, maybe. IRIS came with the computer pre-installed and is for Win95. Do i have to uninstall Win 98 to delete the [email protected]#$^%
antivirus?

TonyS
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Nono.

You can probably disable IRIS through Msconfig/Startup in Windows as well.

First, lets take a look at your startup proggies:

Go to Start/run, and type Msinfo32, followed by OK.
Go to Software Environment/Startup Programs.
Now click Edit/'Select all', and then 'copy'
Paste the contents in your post.
 

TonyS

Thread Starter
Joined
Jun 29, 2001
Messages
14
Crystal 3D Audio Control Startup Group C:\WINDOWS\CWB3DSND.EXE
IRIS AntiVirus Active Monitor Startup Group C:\ANTVIRUS\wimmun32.exe
OCRAWARE Startup Group C:\OPLIMIT\OCRAWARE.EXE
MSMSGS Registry (Per-User Run) "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
MSWHEEL Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mswheel.exe
POINTER Registry (Machine Run) C:\MSINPUT\point32.exe
Warner Registry (Machine Run) C:\Warner\warner.exe
PiDunHk Registry (Machine Run) "C:\PROGRAM FILES\PRODINET\BIN\PIDUNHK.EXE"
Hotkey Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\NAV\hotkey.exe /AUTO /BAR
CyberTrioModeInfo Registry (Machine Run) C:\CyberTrio\ShowMode.exe
LoadQM Registry (Machine Run) loadqm.exe
Welcome Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\Welcome.exe /R
ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
TaskMonitor Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Run) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
eventmgr.exe Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\eventmgr.exe
azmodem Registry (Machine Service) WINMODEM.101\azexe.exe
LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Service) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
SchedulingAgent Registry (Machine Service) mstask.exe


Here you go
what next?

Tony
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Well, there's your IRIS!

Do this:

Go to Start/run, and type msconfig.
On the Startup tab, uncheck EVERYTHING, EXCEPT for the following items

OCRAWARE (your scanner, optional)
MSMSGS (Messenger, optional)
SystemTray
MSWHEEL (optional, your mouse works without it)
POINTER (idem)
PiDunHk
Hotkey (optional)
CyberTrioMode (optional)
ScanRegistry
LoadPowerProfile (2x)
azmodem
SchedulingAgent

The items marked 'optional' aren't neccessary for Windows to run either, and you may experiment by unchecking them also.

Click OK, close Msconfig, and reboot (important!)

Now go to Software add/remove and remove New(dot)net application and Webhancer Agent.

Reboot AGAIN.

Download and install <A HREF="http://www.lavasoftusa.net/index.html">Ad-Aware</A> . This is a program which scans your system for spyware.

After having downloaded AAW, also download the latest Signature file (Reflist.sig) : http://www.lavasoftusa.net/aaw/binary/reflist.zip
Unpack it to the Lavasoft Ad-Aware folder in Program Files, and have it overwrite the one that's there.

Then have your drives and registry scanned for spyware, check all found files and reg keys, click continue, and have them removed.
Reboot one last time.

Your computer will thank you for this, and you'll be amazed about how much more smoothly your system will run.


Good luck,
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2001
Messages
616
Tony. Just a little info for you. I have been unable to get Lavasoft's website for several days now. I will check around and see if there is another site that has it.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Then you have a problem, for they all do.

Do this:

First, try setting IE5 as your default browser. Go to IE tools/internet options/programs and turn on the check box for IE to check if it is the default browser. Shut down and restart IE. When it asks to be default browser, say yes.

Also have a look at this MS article:

Internet Shortcuts in Outlook Express Don't Start Browser

It appears to refer to OE, but it's relevant all the same.

Running IE REpair most often fixes this kind of file association trouble too.

After you've done that, please post back.

And please, what's your version of Windows, and of IE?
 
Joined
Apr 4, 2001
Messages
616
Sorry Tony.

Still no joy. Everything has been cleaned, scanned, and repaired. But I still can't get your links to work. The link to microsoft only partly loaded.

I'm running win98se and IE 6.0. I'm able to get links in other posts to work except to lavasoft.

I'll try a few more things and if I can't figure this out I'll start a new post where it belongs.

Thanks
John
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top