1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Installing antivirus

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by TonyS, Dec 15, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. TonyS

    TonyS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Hi everyone

    I posted a while back on problems installing Win98. I got help and it is installed. However, I’m trying to upgrade from IRIS antivirus for Win 95 to McAfee for Win 98. I keep getting an error message: “Illegal operation will shut down - autorun caused a general protection fault in module s3_2rv @0001.0001926.”

    TonyS
     
  2. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Hi TonyS,

    First, have you uninstalled this IRIS antivirus, before attempting to install McAfee (shock, horror..:D)
     
  3. TonyS

    TonyS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Tony

    We have a popular name. Were you horrified at me trying McAfee? Or something else? Don't worry. I have a sense of humor. No, I haven't uninstalled - but I have had more than one anitvirus program running before. Is this a mistake?

    I've used McAfee before, and also Norton. After surfing the net in more than one of these type of forums, I know people have had problems with just about every program out there.

    I can uninstall, but my add/remove in my control panel doesn't give me that option. Or at least i haven't figured it out yet. Can I just drag the icon into the recycle bin and send it gibbering off to cyberhell?

    TonyS
     
  4. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Hi Tony,

    Ií's not a good idea to have two virus scanners running simultaneously, for when push comes to shove, they may dispute each other the right to handle a virus infection, with disastrous results.

    You were right to notice :)D) that I'm not much of a McAfee fan.
    I used McAfee for a year or so, and when it works it works, but it is certainly not the best you can get, and you hear a lot of reports of bugs and conflicts in connection with McAfee.

    Better choices: Norton, Nod32, Vet antivirus.

    And you shouldn't just discard the program's folder in Program Files.
    When you install a program it puts files all over your hard disk, not only in Program Files, but also in C:\Windows and C:\Windows\System, not to memtion the registry.
    Deleting a program like that is a recipe for trouble.

    What you could do, is go into the options of IRIS, and uncheck 'load IRIS as Windows starts', or something similar.
    Reboot, and IRIS won't be active, so it won't cause trouble either.

    Then install another antivirus.

    Good luck,
     
  5. TonyS

    TonyS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Tony

    Ack! There isn't an option like that anywhere in the IRIS folder. As a matter of fact I couldn't find anything even remotely resembling it anywhere is the system. It's like IRIS is forcing you to upgrade to their software - which of course i can do (if they haven't gone out of business by now). I was aiming too high, maybe. IRIS came with the computer pre-installed and is for Win95. Do i have to uninstall Win 98 to delete the [email protected]#$^%
    antivirus?

    TonyS
     
  6. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Nono.

    You can probably disable IRIS through Msconfig/Startup in Windows as well.

    First, lets take a look at your startup proggies:

    Go to Start/run, and type Msinfo32, followed by OK.
    Go to Software Environment/Startup Programs.
    Now click Edit/'Select all', and then 'copy'
    Paste the contents in your post.
     
  7. TonyS

    TonyS Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    14
    Crystal 3D Audio Control Startup Group C:\WINDOWS\CWB3DSND.EXE
    IRIS AntiVirus Active Monitor Startup Group C:\ANTVIRUS\wimmun32.exe
    OCRAWARE Startup Group C:\OPLIMIT\OCRAWARE.EXE
    MSMSGS Registry (Per-User Run) "C:\Program Files\Messenger\msmsgs.exe" /background
    SystemTray Registry (Machine Run) SysTray.Exe
    MSWHEEL Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\mswheel.exe
    POINTER Registry (Machine Run) C:\MSINPUT\point32.exe
    Warner Registry (Machine Run) C:\Warner\warner.exe
    PiDunHk Registry (Machine Run) "C:\PROGRAM FILES\PRODINET\BIN\PIDUNHK.EXE"
    Hotkey Registry (Machine Run) C:\PROGRA~1\NAV\hotkey.exe /AUTO /BAR
    CyberTrioModeInfo Registry (Machine Run) C:\CyberTrio\ShowMode.exe
    LoadQM Registry (Machine Run) loadqm.exe
    Welcome Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\Welcome.exe /R
    ScanRegistry Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\scanregw.exe /autorun
    TaskMonitor Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\taskmon.exe
    LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Run) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    eventmgr.exe Registry (Machine Run) C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM\eventmgr.exe
    azmodem Registry (Machine Service) WINMODEM.101\azexe.exe
    LoadPowerProfile Registry (Machine Service) Rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,LoadCurrentPwrScheme
    SchedulingAgent Registry (Machine Service) mstask.exe


    Here you go
    what next?

    Tony
     
  8. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Well, there's your IRIS!

    Do this:

    Go to Start/run, and type msconfig.
    On the Startup tab, uncheck EVERYTHING, EXCEPT for the following items

    OCRAWARE (your scanner, optional)
    MSMSGS (Messenger, optional)
    SystemTray
    MSWHEEL (optional, your mouse works without it)
    POINTER (idem)
    PiDunHk
    Hotkey (optional)
    CyberTrioMode (optional)
    ScanRegistry
    LoadPowerProfile (2x)
    azmodem
    SchedulingAgent

    The items marked 'optional' aren't neccessary for Windows to run either, and you may experiment by unchecking them also.

    Click OK, close Msconfig, and reboot (important!)

    Now go to Software add/remove and remove New(dot)net application and Webhancer Agent.

    Reboot AGAIN.

    Download and install <A HREF="http://www.lavasoftusa.net/index.html">Ad-Aware</A> . This is a program which scans your system for spyware.

    After having downloaded AAW, also download the latest Signature file (Reflist.sig) : http://www.lavasoftusa.net/aaw/binary/reflist.zip
    Unpack it to the Lavasoft Ad-Aware folder in Program Files, and have it overwrite the one that's there.

    Then have your drives and registry scanned for spyware, check all found files and reg keys, click continue, and have them removed.
    Reboot one last time.

    Your computer will thank you for this, and you'll be amazed about how much more smoothly your system will run.


    Good luck,
     
  9. John Sparkman

    John Sparkman

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    616
    Tony. Just a little info for you. I have been unable to get Lavasoft's website for several days now. I will check around and see if there is another site that has it.
     
  10. John Sparkman

    John Sparkman

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    616
    Found it at CNET give it a try here if lavasofts wed site is still down.
     
  11. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
  12. John Sparkman

    John Sparkman

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    616
    Sorry Tony.

    I can't get any of your links to work.
     
  13. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Then you have a problem, for they all do.

    Do this:

    First, try setting IE5 as your default browser. Go to IE tools/internet options/programs and turn on the check box for IE to check if it is the default browser. Shut down and restart IE. When it asks to be default browser, say yes.

    Also have a look at this MS article:

    Internet Shortcuts in Outlook Express Don't Start Browser

    It appears to refer to OE, but it's relevant all the same.

    Running IE REpair most often fixes this kind of file association trouble too.

    After you've done that, please post back.

    And please, what's your version of Windows, and of IE?
     
  14. John Sparkman

    John Sparkman

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2001
    Messages:
    616
    Sorry Tony.

    Still no joy. Everything has been cleaned, scanned, and repaired. But I still can't get your links to work. The link to microsoft only partly loaded.

    I'm running win98se and IE 6.0. I'm able to get links in other posts to work except to lavasoft.

    I'll try a few more things and if I can't figure this out I'll start a new post where it belongs.

    Thanks
    John
     
  15. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Alright, see you there!
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/61843

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice