1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Installing Atheros Driver for Dlink Wireless Adapter

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by KuRsAnI, Jan 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. KuRsAnI

    KuRsAnI Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Hello,

    I've been having intermittent disconnection issues with my wireless card, DWA-552. After having thoroughly researched on the subject, the conclusion drawn by many people is that dlink's drivers are inappropriate for the card. It was suggested to install the Atheros driver instead, which i proceeded to do. Much to my confusion, when i downloaded the AR5008 10.0.0.75 driver, i found no .exe file to easily setup the driver.

    http://www.atheros.cz/atheros-wireless-download.php?chipset=26&system=6

    I proceeded to do the following:

    1) Uninstall my crappy DLink driver through control panel
    2) Went on Device Manager and scanned for hardware changes
    3) Network Controller appears
    4) I right click on network controller and try to manually update the driver
    5) This window appears: http://imgur.com/GkTza

    I'm stuck there. Help! I've tried following some guides about the issue but nothing works so far and it's a pretty daunting task since i need to reinstall my dlink driver everytime i want to reconnect to the internet for more information.

    Thank you
     
  2. Domonin

    Domonin

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Dude that website looks sketchy and that process just makes you waste time. I suggest you just buy a cheap adapter, dont go through hassles like these just for a stupid adapter. I bought this http://www.amazon.com/Wireless-802-11N-Network-Adapter-Noteook/dp/B00333AWTA/ref=sr_1_16?ie=UTF8&qid=1357322112&sr=8-16&keywords=realtek+wireless+adapter and it works flawlessly, plugged it in and it works. Btw im using Win 7 ultimate 64bit and no problems. I ONLY recommend this to my clients that have desktops. So if you have a laptop then go for something at the same price range but different size.

    Good luck.
    Domonin
     
  3. KuRsAnI

    KuRsAnI Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Hey domonin, thanks for the quick answer, is that adapter good enough for gaming? I require something through which i can play without the slightest lag spike

    thanks
     
  4. KuRsAnI

    KuRsAnI Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Hey domonin, thanks for the quick answer, is that adapter good enough for gaming? I require something through which i can play without the slightest lag spike

    thanks
     
  5. Domonin

    Domonin

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Yeah I game on it too. It works perfectly, no lag.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1083717

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice