installing Fedora Core I

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

utanja

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2003
Messages
312
when ever i try to install Fedora Core I i get as far as the installing imagle part and about 3/4 thru that i get error message that my HD is probably out of space...the error log state that there is a problem with /etc/mtab.conf.....something about sysimage missing ......i get this whether is a fresh install or upgrade from RH9....

utanja :confused:
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2002
Messages
1,961
Have you used the Fedora Core CDs before, or are they fresh downloads?
I'm thinking bad download of CD 1,maybe?
HTH
lynch
 

utanja

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2003
Messages
312
lynch said:
Have you used the Fedora Core CDs before, or are they fresh downloads?
I'm thinking bad download of CD 1,maybe?
HTH
lynch
i have used them before.....and the MD5's are ok... :confused:
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2002
Messages
1,961
Just trying to eliminate one possibility. :)
Are you installing over an older version without formatting or is this a fresh install? Is it a default install or advanced?
lynch
 

utanja

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2003
Messages
312
i get it installed....i tell about it later....going to bed now...lol
 

utanja

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2003
Messages
312
utanja said:
i get it installed....i tell about it later....going to bed now...lol
after all nite session with FedoraCore 1 ....i get it to install fresh....seems that it did not like my 52x cd drive.....tried reinstall in 8x dvd drive and was able to install fine ...tries several different methods as well....and not a problem...so i guess my cdrw drive is not totally compatible with Fedora...strange worked perfectly for all prior versions of RH and Slack.. :confused: :confused:
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2002
Messages
1,961
Whiteskin said:
It is odd.
Utanja, what is the make and model of the CD drive? I'd be interested to find out if this is a larger issue or just a model to avoid.
Does Fedora have a errata page posted, I wonder? Perhaps they have somthing about this.
Anyway, glad to hear you things working.
And , please get your rest before you install an OS or fly a Lear jet. :D
lynch
 

utanja

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 21, 2003
Messages
312
lynch said:
It is odd.
Utanja, what is the make and model of the CD drive? I'd be interested to find out if this is a larger issue or just a model to avoid.
Does Fedora have a errata page posted, I wonder? Perhaps they have somthing about this.
Anyway, glad to hear you things working.
And , please get your rest before you install an OS or fly a Lear jet. :D
lynch
http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=39 said:
wanted to reinstall Fedora Core 1 on my hard disk, so, I boot from the Installation CD1, it detects my hardware, I can partition and format fine.
But when it comes to transfering the install image to the hard disk, it fails saying "Error transferring install image. You are probably Out of Disk Space".
What??? That's impossible, anyway I check the partitions once more:

/boot = 100 Mb
/ = 10240 Mb
/home = 2048 Mb
/swap = 1024 Mb

Everything was OK. So, what's the problem? I was a little confused.

I found at fedoraforum.org that another user had a similar problem that could be "something odd with the CD drive".

So, I looked at my CD drive, Fedora CD was inserted in the DVD ROM drive.

I have 2 CD ROM drives:
1. ASUS CD-RW 5224A (Burner)
2. PIONEER DVD-ROM 120

I always installed Fedora from my ASUS drive without any problems. But this time, I was trying to install Fedora from the DVD ROM, and this time, I was getting errors. Just coincidence?
Nop, it wasn't a coincidence, actually, my DVD drive was the problem. Finally, I could reinstall Fedora perfectly well, from my ASUS drive.

My DVD driver works fine under Fedora, I can see dvds, read cds, play music... so I don't know why I could not install Fedora from it.

Tips:

fedorauser2003 said:

"When the Fedora prompt is visible on the install, press F2, then at the prompt type:

linux mediacheck

This will show if any part of your computer is not compatible."
i just follow the directions and it install fine... i also try in my DVD player and normal install as well....
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top