1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

installing hardware and drivers

Discussion in 'Linux and Unix' started by jasonrosegiese, Jan 29, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jasonrosegiese

    jasonrosegiese Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2001
    Messages:
    195
    I have just installed mandrake 7.1 on an all in one mobo(PCChips m748LRT)
    It detected the video just fine, but didn't detect the modem or the sound.
    I Know the modem is good, but I don't know where to go to try to detect or install it. I have the drivers for win98.
    Does linux have a section like windows " add new hardware"??

    Or should I try reinstalling it and prey that it detects them?

    Also, if I get the modem going, where do I go to configure the modem to my internet account??
     
  2. jasonrosegiese

    jasonrosegiese Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2001
    Messages:
    195
    I'm lookin at a screen that looks like the device manager in windows.

    it says i dont have a sound card or a modem. It shows the video.
    In a section listed "other", It list: SIS 5513, SIS85C503/5513, SIS ACPI, AND SIS 5591/5592 AGP

    Does this have anything to do with my modem and sound??
     
  3. codejockey

    codejockey

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,405
    This is a classic problem with Windoze-centric hardware (motherboards, modems, etc.). In such cases, I usually configure my system to boot into DOS (allowing the drivers to load) and then boot into Linux using loadlin and my kernel of choice. When Linux boots, the drivers are still active (i.e., not removed from memory) and Linux can recognize your on-board sound/video. I used exactly this solution with my PC-Chips motherboard (M570, I think).

    Hope this helps.
     
  4. Id1e

    Id1e

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1
    i take it you've gone through HardDrake and tried to configure your problem there first?
    otherwise like codejockey has suggested, boot system into dos then boot into linux so that the drivers are still loaded.
     
  5. fdutra

    fdutra

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1
    Dear Codejockey

    I have the same problem: no sound from Audio CD. I very newbie to Linux and could NOT follow your suggestion. Please, could you explain more detailly.
    How can I "configure the system to boot into DOS" ?

    Thanks

    Filipe Dutra
    [email protected]

    ==============================================
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - installing hardware drivers
  1. Brwnjacketwithsunglss
    Replies:
    99
    Views:
    2,094
  2. shujat
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    261
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/66917

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice