1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Installing ITunes & QuickTime

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Well Over 13, Feb 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Well Over 13

    Well Over 13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    With the help of my OEM support guy I've tried everything posted on this site re installing iTunes. I get the message posted by Lordevan on 22 Jan: "There is a problem with this windows installer package. a program required for this install to complete could not be run. Etc Etc." I've tried everything including executing the command to confirm that I'm the net administrator.
    A key observation (picked up from a Microsoft support KB) is that in Properties for my hard-drive i don't actually have a Security tab -- so there's no way I can make sure I have full control and all permissions etc.
    My PC support guy has now said that perhaps I've got some corrupted files in Windows and need to so a complete re-install.....but this is also my business PC and do I need to risk that just to be able to use my new iPOD? (As my user name suggests -- I'm a bit out-dated!!!)
    Does anyone out there know any 5 year olds that may be able to help? Or even any oldies??? There's defintiely a donation on its way if I can get this thing sorted.
    Thanks in advance!!!!
     
  2. techychick

    techychick

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    611
    Have you tried all recommendations suggested by apple?

    Trouble installing iTunes or QuickTime for Windows
    http://docs.info.apple.com/article.html?artnum=93976

    Can you create another account on your computer, or if you already have one can you try to install via that user?
     
  3. Well Over 13

    Well Over 13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks for the suggestions - I've tried everything apple suggests and also two users -- me (as Admin) and Admin. Both with full rights (except I can't set the rights because I've no security tab in porperties!
     
  4. techychick

    techychick

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    611
  5. Well Over 13

    Well Over 13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Thanks for the suggestiion but I've tried previously and it doesn't help
     
  6. techychick

    techychick

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2007
    Messages:
    611
    Ok, lets take this a step back as this may well be a permissions issue..

    You have stated that you don't have a security tab in the properties of your hard drive, is "Use Simple File Sharing." unchecked

    Open Windows Explorer, and choose Folder Options from the Tools menu.
    On the View tab, scroll to the bottom of the Advanced Settings and clear (click) the check box next to "Use Simple File Sharing."
    Click OK to apply the change, and you should now have a Security tab when viewing the properties of a file on an NTFS volume

    Let us know the results of this....
     
  7. reh2k

    reh2k

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Silly question, where is you My Documents folder going to? Is it a network drive by any chance?
     
  8. Well Over 13

    Well Over 13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    I've done as you suggest but there is no "use simple file sharing" box in the advanced settings list!

    My documents folder is just on my C drive.

    FYI my OEM chap suggested that I should try loading an older version off iTunes (6.0.5) - which I have done apparently successfully - although it won't open. Perhaps when I reboot it will automatically upgrade itself.
     
  9. reh2k

    reh2k

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Do you have any mapped network drives on there that are unreachable at the moment? Where are you usually storing your iTunes library?
     
  10. Well Over 13

    Well Over 13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    My problems continue! I can't read the Library because it was created by a newer itunes version -- and I still can't install the 7.6 version.

    I'm afraid I don't understand your most recent question -- I guess the library is also stored on my c drive -- certainly not on another network
     
  11. reh2k

    reh2k

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Ok, lets go back a bit. What is actually happening when you try to install iTunes? Is there an error message, or is it just not doing anything?

    You can check if its doing anything by right clicking the task bar and selecting "task manager", then look at the process list and see if it is listed as a running process.

    If it is there, then the application may have just hung.
     
  12. Well Over 13

    Well Over 13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    It's not hung -- there's an error message when I try to install either the new version of iTunes or Quick Time. The message is in a box entitled "Windows Installer" and it reads: " There is a problem with this Windows Installer package. A program required for install to complete could not be run. Contact your service provider".

    When I exit the installation a later message comes up which says that Quick Time is needed. so I've tried installing Quick Time separately -- but I get the same Windows Installer message.
    I've re-installed the latest version of W. Inst., tired all the Apple trouble-shooting suggestions, and all sorts of bits and pieces from the Microsoft site. Microsoft won't talk to me directly because Windows XP is an OEM version -- already installed on my Dell PC when I bought it. (Never again!) The Dell guy has gone out of his way to help but he's now stumped.
     
  13. reh2k

    reh2k

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    I take it you have downloaded the install file from the Apple website? Just need to be clear on that.

    If you right click the install file, you should have an option to extract the contents. If you dont, then download winrar or some zip program and extract the contents to a folder.

    Run the setup from that location you extracted the files to and see if that works.
     
  14. Well Over 13

    Well Over 13 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Sent to a zip file as suggested and tried to install from there -- still the same error message.

    And yes -- I did download from Apple
     
  15. reh2k

    reh2k

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    I didnt suggest sending it to a zip file?

    I asked you to extract the contents of the MSI file to a folder. The .MSI is an extractable file...
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/682012