Installing Linux Packages Offline

Lordpiggywig

I recently acquired a HP stream 11 with Ubuntu 18.04 pre-Installed and came across the "No wifi adapter found" problem associated between that and Broadcom wifi which apparently is a very common issue, and have researched to find i need to run the following terminal command to correct the issue:

sudo apt-get install --reinstall bcmwl-kernel-source

however this requires an ethernet connection which is not possible as the laptop has no ethernet port or wifi connection (duh) so I was wondering if it would be possible to do download the packages needed using my current personal laptop (Running windows 10 if that makes a difference) and simply transfer the package across on a usb drive to the HP Stream and make sure they are saved in the right place to get it working.

I have very little experience with linux or computers so the simpler the explanation the better please!

TerryNet

Terry
I do not know. Just wanted to mention another possible workaround--a USB wireless adapter (that works with Ubuntu) could be used temporarily. Unfortunately, I have no suggestions on a particular adapter, as I have not bought or used one for a number of years.

however this requires an ethernet connection which is not possible as the laptop has no ethernet port or wifi connection
the simpler the explanation the better please!
I'm afraid what you expect is going to be very hard.

Your first step is to learn adapter chip, then see if there is driver available:
https://wireless.wiki.kernel.org/en/users/drivers

Once you figure that out you'll have to download latest drivers and compile the one you need, which means a lot of pain if you never compiled something:
https://mirrors.edge.kernel.org/pub/linux/kernel/projects/backports/stable/v5.7.5/

Your best bet is to first test whether your adapter works at all.

managed

Allan
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Try this :-